“We Are All Meant to Shine”

Thank you to Laure Lovelace, my fitness bootcamp trainer, animal activist, and someone I’m happy to call a friend. She sent the following to me over the weekend:

One of my favorite quotes makes me think of you today…

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be?

Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

Shine On by Lan Truong

by Lan Truong

It’s from Marianne Williamson. The first time I read that quote I was moved to tears as well. Being someone who to this day at times feels ‘guilty’ for being happy it is something I need to remind myself of.

I used to think that being compassionate meant feeling pain all the time. While it is painful to be aware of the tragedies of this world, we do no good by wallowing and not being our best. When we are at our best we can BE our best and that makes the world a better place.

Shine on my friend ♥

–        –         –         –

A smart one, she is. Yes. Shine on.

 

One thought on ““We Are All Meant to Shine”

  1. Pingback: It is not in the purpose of the universe that you play it small | Holistic me

Leave a comment