SWEATER WEATHER: Pretending It’s Fall Makes Me Happier than Most Things

 (If you like this Fall post, see also: The Noise of Failure Growing Beautiful; and Books, Leaves and Campfires)

.     .     .

I could never live anywhere that didn’t have Fall as one of the seasons. I’ll gladly take blizzards in the winter, and sticky hot humidity in the summer, if it means I get to experience the in-between.

Love love love love love this.

The past few days when I’ve gone outside, it’s been… chilly. Not cold, but enough to wear layers and long sleeves and still feel perfectly comfortable. Taking long walks is more appealing than usual, and I feel so lucky to live in a town that is beautiful and full of such history.

This morning I am positively giddy about what this change of the seasons will bring:

  • butternut squash, pumpkin, apple and cinnamon everything
  • creepy 1970’s books
  • CARDIGANS AND BOOTS!
  • the way orange and yellow and brown leaves smell
  • pumpkin patches with little shops that sell apple cider
  • apple cider in general
  • neutral milk hotel records
  • the 4million festivals in the Lehigh Valley
  • a good excuse to have a backyard firepit any night
  • reading on the couch while Ryan watches a football game (a display of domesticity that I love and count on)

“Happiness is being content with little.”

  NOTE: Literally as I’m on the sidewalk typing this, a car pulls up by the curb and yells out “Save the Kales!”, and here is is my former internet-only friend Amy! She’s been a reader for a long time, and I’m not sure if we first bonded over this blog or her excellent choice of eyewear, but nonetheless, we finally got to meet and MAN IT’S REALLY JUST THE BEST DAY! (Hi again, Amy!)

 

Here are some upcoming events and things I hope you’ll be excited about  – and with any luck I’ll get to see you there, too!

– Wednesday, Aug. 31st 6pm-8pm  Stacks in the City: Ladies Night – All About Vegan! I’ll be there doing a cooking demo, along with the amazing Wendy of Balasia/Honey Underground, and possibly a few more folks in the local Vegan community. Not just for ladies! FREE event at SteelSatcks. Find out more here: http://www.artsquest.org/pages/details.php?27077

Saturday, Sept. 3rd 7pm – ???   Screening of Forks Over Knives with Discussion to Follow  Holy moly, I have been waiting for this to come to the Valley for a long time! What Food Inc. did for food politics, Forkes Over Knives does for food and health/sickness. I’ll be on the discussion panel along with some other folks! Come see it! Talk! Ahh!

Find out more about the weekend-long Eco-Film Fest here: http://www.artsquest.org/film/ecofest.php

Wednesday, Sept 7  Get your Free copy of The Mix weekly paper! Bethlehem Vegfest is the feature this week. These are, like, everywhere in the Valley and will be out until the following Wednesday.

Saturday, Sept 10th Noon-5pm  Bethlehem Vegfest  WOW, IT’S HERE! I’ll see you on the Greenway!

Correct.

… In the mean time, I’ll be working on perfecting some new Fall recipes. See you soon!

8 thoughts on “SWEATER WEATHER: Pretending It’s Fall Makes Me Happier than Most Things

  1. Fall is definitely my favorite season. We chose to have our wedding in fall, so it makes it even extra special. Every time I see the fall decor coming out in stores, I get to think about our wedding!

  2. I am fall dreaming, too! As I walked to class today, the air felt a little cooler and I could even wear a light sweater in the am. We already got some delicata squash from the farmer’s market and I can’t wait to start making comfort food on chilly evenings. Everything’s so much better in the fall, imo.

Leave a comment