KALE, KALE EVERYWHERE

I always feel a burst of excitement when I come across a recipe or nutrition article having including kale. This particular leafy green is not only one of the most nutrient dense foods on the planet, it’s something I never ate until relatively recently in my life, and as you know has become almost symbolic of my quest for advocating a healthy body & mind via this blog.

In the past week there has been an exciting accumulation of kale sightings. Here I’ve compiled some of the best to share with you. And if you come across any awesome kale news, please share it here!

Jan/Feb 2011 Issue, on newsstands NOW!

The current issue of Vegetarian Times magazine is shining it’s spotlight on kale as the feature vegetable this month.  The feature 5 Kickin’ Kale Recipes includes: a kale lasagna (can be made vegan with cheese substitutes), kale shorba with cucumber raita swirl “thick indian soup laced with spices” (use nondairy yogurt), flash fried kale with peanuts, kale-pecan pesto, and the inventive rice and chickpea kale rolls with pineapple salsa.

 

It also provides the following nutritional info as per 1 Cup chopped raw kale:

  • 34 calories
  • 80 mg vitamin C (more than a medium orange which contains 70 mgs!)
  • 299 mg potassium
  • 1 mg iron

From the most amazing Kris Carr of Crazy Sexy Life.com (and the documentary Crazy Sexy Cancer, among her many books and projects), behold this All Hail the Kale Salad.

All Hail the Kale Salad, via CrazySexyLife.com

Yields: 6-8 servings

-2-3 bunches curly kale, chopped or torn into small pieces
-1 red onion, chopped
-5 cloves of garlic, chopped
-3 tablespoon olive oil
-2-3 tablespoon Braggs liquid aminos
-2 tablespoon nutritional yeast
-Cayenne pepper to taste

Put kale in bowl and pour on olive oil. Stir with salad tongs to make sure all leaves are coated.

Add in rest of ingredients and mix well with tongs.  If possible, let marinate at room temperature for about 15-30 minutes before serving. Enjoy!

 

I stumbled across THIS AWESOME T-SHIRT while doing some online search. “Kale is the new Beef.” I LOVE IT. I love it so much I would consider even wearing a t-shirt in public (this one, obviously). These come from the informative website of Dr. Fuhrman. They are made of 100% organic, pre-shrunk cotton and come in regular crew neck and v-neck options. Only $19.95, they can be ordered HERE.

 

 

 

Many thanks to my pal Shan for directing me to an excellent website for all things nutrition/recipes/supplements/health – for real, you could spend hours milling around on New Hope 360. You can watch video reviews of gluten free bread AND find out what creepy ingredients are lurking in your cosmetics while you plan dinner. Love!

I love this recipe for Kale and Napa Cabbage Slaw with Edamame:

1 bunch Tuscan (lacinato or dinosaur) kale, center ribs removed, leaves thinly sliced

1 small head Napa cabbage, halved lengthwise, cored, and thinly sliced

1 large fennel bulb, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced

1 small red onion, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced

1 large red bell pepper

1 pound frozen shelled edamame

1/3 cup mellow white miso

7 cloves garlic, crushed or finely minced

1/2 cup fresh lemon juice

1/2 cup tahini

1/4 cup flaxseed oil

1 tablespoon low-sodium, wheat-free tamari sauce

3 ounces daikon sprouts

1. Bring a medium pot of water to boil. 

2. Place kale, cabbage, fennel, and onion in a large bowl. Cut bell pepper into quarters and remove seeds and membranes. Peel skin off each quarter with a vegetable peeler; then cut into 1/4-inch slices. Add to vegetables in bowl.

3. Add edamame to boiling water and blanch for about 1 minute. Drain, rinse with cold water, and drain again thoroughly. Add to vegetables.

4. Combine miso, garlic, and lemon juice in a bowl and mash together with a spoon or silicone spatula until smooth. Stir in tahini, oil, and tamari until thoroughly blended. Add to vegetables and toss until well mixed. Divide among plates and garnish with daikon sprouts. Serve at once.


Love you, Kale.

17 thoughts on “KALE, KALE EVERYWHERE

  1. I love kale, too! I just ordered the t-shirt …thanks for the link. I’ve been sporting a KALE t-shirt from Candle Cafe on my blog and it might be nice to shake up the kale shirt 😉

      • My husband went to Candle Cafe and picked it up for me. I know they sell some things online, just not sure if they have the shirts: http://www.candlecafe.com

        I read your comment on my blog (will reply/email tonight) but wow, thanks for your feedback! It means a lot! Hope you noticed that you were on my blogroll! I’ve been a long-time reader but today’s devotion to Kale pulled me out 🙂

    • YES! That popped up as a Facebook ad one day and I think it’s awesome! Crap he’ll have to make it into the next round. Seriously, have you ever seen kale get so much attention? I feel like it’s all over the place!

  2. It’s an honor to share a name with such a powerful vegetable! I had no idea.

    I’m excited to see what merchandise you come up with. 🙂 I’m sure it’ll be cute and fun.

  3. Hi, I am sitting next to your friend Lizzie May and I just asked her to try this new snack, kale chips by pachamama raw! So she stells me hey my friend has a website devoted to kale! also my doctor told me i must change my diet NOW so that I will not have stomach issues later and he said the number one good food to eat is kale!!! tel me more about this crazy food…will it help my skin or make my hair sparkle…i need more incentive to eat this curly leaf! help!

    • OH, GIRL. First of all, this is such a cute story I can’t stand it. Thanks Lizzie! And hello Michele! Second: kale is literally one of *the most nutrient dense foods*, on the planet, ever in existence. Seriously. Eating more green leafy things in general is a great idea, but kale is an amazing choice. It’s become quite a rockstar in the health world lately, so you will not find a shortage of recipes online or elsewhere.

      In the second episode of my show (which will be out next month), I make a vegan mac & cheese and KALE casserole. It’s insanely good, if I do say so myself. You can do a hundred billion things with it. I have a recipe for a kale salad that will make you scream in delight — just say the word and I’ll type it up for you!

  4. Hi ladies,
    I love kale shirts too! you might already know this but Woodstock Farm Sanctuary has a great one too. Kale not Cow with a pretty illustration.

  5. Pingback: save the kales : vegan podcast | phoebe's pure food

  6. Pingback: vegan podcast episode | phoebe's pure food

Leave a comment