(RAW VEGAN) PIZZA SPREAD: No, Seriously, It Tastes Like Pizza

I plagiarised myself… But this recipe is just so freakin’ good I had to give it it’s own post here on STK!.

This is a “pizza spread” that also happens to be a raw foods recipe. (*Note: It does contain nutritional yeast which isn’t technically raw but has been embraced by the raw community. If I’m misleading in calling it “raw” let me know and I’ll edit.)

Whatever you want to call it, it’s SO DELICIOUS and makes a lot of food. Need something interesting to take to a summer picnic? Make this and bring some bread or veggies along. Everyone is going to think you’re a rockstar, it’s practically guaranteed. Store leftovers in the fridge for up to a week.

(RAW VEGAN) PIZZA SPREAD

1 cup sun dried tomatoes
1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds (shelled)
1/4 cup nutritional yeast (acts as a Parmesan cheese substitute; horrible name, delicious ingredient!)
1 clove garlic
2 Tbsp fresh Italian parsley
2 Tbsp fresh basil
juice of 1/2 lemon
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 tsp salt

Put all ingredients in a food processor. Process until everything is mixed into a thick spread. You can add some hot red pepper flakes if they suit your taste. ย That’s all!

I swear this tastes like a delicious, fresh Margherita pizza. Plate and serve with bread or fresh veggies. People that usually don’t like veggies will eat them, if for no other reason then that they are merely a vehicle with which to get this spread into their mouths. YUM.

It may turn somewhat brown in color, which happens when you blend red and green. It’s natural. Embrace it. (Though it helps if you garnish with some leftover basil or parsley.)

From my guest blog, Little Spoon, on LVStyle.com

15 thoughts on “(RAW VEGAN) PIZZA SPREAD: No, Seriously, It Tastes Like Pizza

  1. As rule I’m a huge fan of anything with sun dried tomato, garlic and basil. I don’t think it’s possible to go wrong with these ingredients. I’m definitely giving this a try.

  2. This I am going to make..I have been using Ezekiel sprouted grain for a crust when I make my pizza…..oh yes,my dog is a big fan of kale too

  3. We made this this weekend, and it turned out great! We immediately got more ingredients. Too bad SDT are so expensive, but we will be on the lookout for a source. GREAT and cool recipe! We are making your basil ricotta pizza tonight.

  4. Pingback: Organic Raw Vegan Living Creamy Chia Ambrosia Creme Nice Pudding. | Gold Within

  5. hi..
    this looks delicious..it could even be used mixed into whole grain (organic of course!) pasta…or spread on a whole wheat tortilla?

    I have a really low tech though quirky way of making sun dried tomatoes..
    and the outcome so much affordable and still flavor packed..

    Ingredients: Fresh roma tomatoes (ok..you know I mean organically and local grown but any tomato will work)
    several layers of cheese cloth, gauze or clean white t-shirt fabric
    stainless steel cookie sheets ..2 is great ..or if you must aluminum pans or foil over cardboard
    your automobile
    a hot,sunny summer day
    sea salt
    olive oil
    wash and dry ,slice tomatoes (quarter or slices both work)
    very ,very lightly grease the pans or foil
    place tomato slices on the pans
    cover loosely with the fabric
    set the trays inside the car on a clean dash with the windows up
    (you know how hot the inside of your car can get in the summer )
    don’t plan on driving for at least 12 hours on a sunny ,hot day or two

    the tomato slices will dry and shrink a bit
    once dried you can sprinkle lightly with the salt and store in a tight lid container in the fridge or place layers in a wide mouth jar in an olive oil bath.I would keep them in the fridge ,too, only to reduce the chance of bacteria growth. The olive oil may cloud and thicken but that is ok..it won’t affect the tomatoes ..you can even add your fave herbs in the oil to impart extra flavor to those tomatoes ..like garlic cloves,basil,oregano and rosemary thyme..or all or some other savory herb you enjoy..

    some people use the car roof and hood for the same purpose but I always worry about low-flying birds and insects..or a curious cat getting up on the car! yikes!

    • What a GREAT idea, I never tried to make my own! I’m lucky in that there is a market here that gets freshly-made ones and sells them very cheap, but those packaged bags at the store can be expensive! Thank you for this awesome comment and great tip!

  6. What can we sub for the sun-dried tomatoes. Can’t find any at the moment but want to try your recipe as it sounds delicious! Can I use tomato paste instead?
    Tks!

  7. This was disastrous for me. I’m thinking those sundried tomatoes needed to be soaked or the ones in oil–the dried directly out of the bag made this gross.

    • It’s very likely they were too dry. I think I’m lucky because I get them at a store that sells them pretty cheap in bulk AND they “dried” but still very soft and blend well. I’ve had the kind from a prepackaged bag at the store and they are like rocks! You can def. try the kind in oil, I’m certain they’d blend a lot better. I hope that works๐Ÿ™‚

      • Yep, it was the kind from a bag. I think if I soaked them, they’d be fine. I will give it a whirl again!

      • Ok, just tried this again with soaking the sundried tomatoes and sunflower seeds over night. So good and toddler approved!

Leave a Reply

