MIXED BERRY PUDDING: Pretty and Tasty Pudding with Five Ingredients

Grocery shopping is always incredibly inspiring when it comes to developing new, simple recipes. At the moment I’m boiling some dried fava beans (I’ve never used them, they’re HUGE!) and have a few cooking projects going in the kitchen while I work on various writing assignments due this week.

Last night was special because Ryan and I were both and decidedly finished with work by 8pm, which is truly record time to end a work day, by leaps and bounds. I cooked up a three course dinner, lit a million candles, adorned the table with fresh flowers and two big ol’ glasses of wine.

I hadn’t thought about dessert beforehand and needed to use what I had on hand: I had picked up some berries from the store and had silken tofu in the pantry, and have made berry puddings in the past using those as a base. A few minutes flipping through cookbooks and browsing the internet, I found a super simple (E-A-S-Y!) recipe for a vegan berry pudding. 

Vegan Mixed Berry Pudding

MIXED BERRY PUDDING

  • 5 Tbsp agave nectar
  • 5 Tbsp water
  • 12 oz. fresh berries (I used 8 oz. strawberries, 4 oz. blueberries, or about half a container of each)
  • 1 pack silken tofu (make sure it’s silken!)
  • tsp lemon juice
  • pinch of sea salt

Add the agave, water, and berries (I sliced the strawberries in halves or thirds) and bring to a boil, then allow to simmer on low heat until berries start to get syrupy, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat and allow to cool for about 10 minutes.

In a blender, add the silken tofu, berry mixture, lemon juice and salt, and blend on high until everything is whipped together.

Pour mixture into individual cups or a large bowl, and allow to cool in the fridge. (I put it in the freezer for it to cool faster, and the sides started to freeze and become sort of like a frozen cream pop. I think I liked it better as a pudding texture, though.)

Once cooled, top with fresh fruit for garnish.

Make this for someone you love and enjoy!

PS – Can I just rave again about the colors of fresh produce? My gosh, the colors!

5 thoughts on “MIXED BERRY PUDDING: Pretty and Tasty Pudding with Five Ingredients

  1. Just made it, except I used peach nectar and a littl wheat germ instead of salt. It’s awesome as I eat a little semi-warm while the other cups are in the fridge, and I have a little leftover granola/almond/white-chocolate mix from sundays berry dessert (blenderized, obviously sub vegan chocolate to avoid dairy) in the freezer mixed in here, it’s hella tasty, and when it cools it’ll look awesome witha few berries and a spoonful or 2 of the mix on up.
    Love the quickness too! I’m sure it’ll be even better when cooled!

Leave a Reply

