AVOCADO COCONUT CUCUMBER SOUP: Chilled and Creamy, Strange and Delicious

Yesterday I had the distinct pleasure of having some dental work done, so I stocked up on soft, slurpable foods. Although I spent the majority of the day sleeping, there was a brief afternoon glimmer of kitchen creativity as I searched for something I could physically eat but that contained more nutrition and satiety than, say, organic applesauce.

(Bonus: I ‘ve been reading up on alkaline/ph diets and just learned that an avocado has more usable, absorbable protein than an 8 oz. steak. I love facts like this, especially when they come from doctors or resources that aren’t vegetarian, thus having no “agenda”.  Good to know!)

I came up with this recipe on the spot by throwing a bunch of things into a blender and hoping for the best. Root canals make the hefty impulse purchase of a Vita-Mix last summer totally worth it.

AVOCADO COCONUT CUCUMBER SOUP

  • flesh of 1 avocado
  • 1 small (or 1/2 large) cucumber, peeled
  • 1-2 Tbsp cilantro, roughly chopped
  • juice of 1/4 lime
  • 1/2 SMALL garlic clove
  • touch of salt
  • coconut milk until creamy consistency, about 1/2 cup
  • *add a little water if you’d like to thin the soup
  • lime zest and unsweetened dried coconut flakes for garnish

Chilled avocado soup ingredients

Start with the first four ingredients and add them to a high-powered blender. Add the coconut milk. Taste. At this point you could take it a number of directions by adding different flavors, or continue on…

Coconut milk makes everything, anything extra tasty

Add the remaining ingredients and plate in a bowl that contrasts the pretty green color. Garnish with some lime zest and dried coconut.

Avocado Coconut Cucumber soup

Vegan chilled summer avocado soup

It has the familiarity of guacamole, but “fluffier” and sweetened from the coconut. The three main ingredients – avocado, coconut and cucumber – each come through distinctly for a somewhat tropical and very refreshing taste.

I imagine if you take out the garlic and add in a sweetner, it would make a delicious dip for fruit. Some big ol’ chunks of pineapple topped with this on a July afternoon? Yes, please.

–         –         –         –        –      –        –

My mouth hurts and pain meds make me feel like life is an out of body experience. But this morning I got to sit in the yard in pajamas, drink tea from my eggplant mug (a lovely handcrafted pottery set gifted to us from Ryan’s Aunt and Uncle), eat soy yogurt and read my official letter of reservation for my place at Vegetarian Summerfest 2012!

And I read this, and I quite liked it:

“Make the most of yourself, for that is all there is of you.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

4 thoughts on “AVOCADO COCONUT CUCUMBER SOUP: Chilled and Creamy, Strange and Delicious

  1. I love all of the ingredients in this soup! Looks delicious. Also, my Vitamix has changed my life. Can’t imagine life without it. Hope your mouth feels better soon🙂

    • How cute are you and the name of your blog!?! Thank you!

      Yes, I got the Vitamix after lingering about the demo station when I went to Vegetarian Summerfest last year… I’d wait around and eat samples every time I walked by, but the minute the guy made AVOCADO ICE CREAM (!!!!) I was plunking down my credit card. I have never owned something that better embodied “you get what you pay for”. Not exactly budget friendly, but I use it all the time and it’s so much better than buying $200 blenders every few years that don’t do nearly as good a job! Love sharing this vitamix love!🙂

  2. Pingback: September 12th and 13th bag items… | O`ahu Fresh

Leave a Reply

