WEATHER PREDICTIONS: How Weather Influences Productivity

I’ve had a bunch of OCD’s my entire life. They are very mild – I don’t have trouble leaving the house or functioning in day to day life because of them. But I like things in even numbers. Except six. OhmygoodnessIHATEthenumbersix. Last week I parked in a metered lot and didn’t realize I was in space 6 until I went back to my car where it had been, sitting on the blacktop of SPACE SIX for HOURS and I felt uncomfortable the rest of the day.

I also need touch and temperature to be balanced. (Am I a Libra or what?) For example, if someone with very cold hands touches my right arm, I need them to touch my left arm in exactly the same place.

Another one that has crept up in the last 2-3 years is where I can be, physically and literally exist and take up Jaime-shaped space, based on the weather. If it’s a day I’m working from home and it’s sunny, I cannot be in my house. I pace around hugging the cat and feeling “off” and unproductive even if I’m getting work done.

Rainy days are preferable (unless I’m taking a road trip… but maybe even then) because I can be home and feel relaxed. You are supposed to be home and comfortable and loungey on a rainy day, even if you have a lot of work to do. Although, coffee shops make a great backdrop (one of my favorite atmospheres) for writing and reading and saying hello to neighbors, watching the people scamper with umbrellas.

Remember that scene in High Fidelity when Rob said he organized his record collection autobiographically? Mine is organized by season.

This morning I woke up to a strange weather phenomenon: hovering over my street was a giant dark gray storm cloud, like the space ship in Armageddon. Beyond it, looking toward the library, a bright blue sky with puffy, cheerful white cumulus clouds.

I had no idea what to do with myself.

I got dressed, I flopped back in bed, I tried to read, I tried to relax with a cooking show until I “figured it out”. It was so incredibly uncomfortable. I considered closing all the curtains and trying to go to sleep until the afternoon. There’s so much to do, so much to write. The places I’ve been, the people met, the food happily eaten in the past few weeks… but how do you do anything on a day like this?

So here I am. One of my favorite coffee shops, armed with books (The Five Things We Cannot Change and my signed copy of Vegan’s Daily Companion, specifically), trying to make a plan for the rest of this day, this week, this month, forever and ever? I don’t know.

From The Five Things We Cannot Change by David Richo (every page is highlighted multiple times, it’s nearly impossible to pull out just one part, but here you go):

“If we have the courage to face life’s unavoidable truths, we will find the grace to love no matter what happens to us. Love is always unconditional.

Neither changes, endings, altered plans, unfairness, suffering, disloyalty, or lack of love can stop us from loving. Our ‘yes’ to such a stunning grace is what our ego always wants to say, since it means the end of being afraid is the beginning of being free.”

I needed to write a post today because now I feel like I’ve done something. Thanks for understanding I used this as a sort of outlet today, differently than other days in content.

I hope you’ll find the courage, motivation and inspiration to do something beautiful today. Even if it’s just to pause a moment to reflect on yourself.

6 thoughts on “WEATHER PREDICTIONS: How Weather Influences Productivity

  1. I, too have several OCD tendencies that can make me uncomfortable, but don’t keep me from leaving my house or anything. They include stepping over sidewalk cracks with my left foot, counting stairs, lining everything up in either parallels or perpendiculars (I can’t stand diagonals!), doing a “security check” of my house every night (which must be done in the correct order and any interruptions require me to start over), etc. It’s always good to know I’m not alone in these behaviors. I hope your day gets better!

    • Oh dear, I have the stepping over cracks thing too. Or if flooring changes, like a floor goes from carpeting to hardwood. But when I go over it with one foot, I have to go over another floor change with my other foot, which can be tricky, and sometimes means I just stand in place at put the other foot back over that same “line”. Haha. It’s funny, the more I talk about this stuff the more you find out about what other people “have”. We’re in good company!πŸ™‚

  2. You are not the only one with an OCD that involves numbers. Any time I cook, things have to be a certain #. Like if I’m getting a bag of carrots for snack for my daughter, I have to count them out vs. just dumping them in the bag. Or if I need olives for a dish, they have to be counted out to an even number and etc… with other foods when making a dish. And they have to be an even number also. I feel like there will be something wrong with a dish if I prepared it with an odd number of items.

Leave a Reply

