DIY LARABARS: Apricot Pumpkin Pie raw vegan snack bars

In an effort to find an easy on the go breakfast/snack bar, I noticed an awful lot of raw fruit + nut bars popping up, intended to be similar to the raw vegan Larabar brand bars. (Larabar brand bars are delicious and I’m so glad they exist when you are on long trips and can pick one up at a Wawa or other gas station!)

 I based the bars I made on this recipe, but there is another in Whole Living magazine this month (similar to the ones I made but drizzled in chocolate and topped with coconut, fancy!), and my pal Stacy just found this website that gives you a breakdown of how to combine ingredients to make a ton of flavors.

The Spring always makes me want to dive into more raw foods recipes, and the raw nuts and dehydrated fruit of these bars fit the bill. (Yes, dehydrated fruit is still “raw”.)  If you’re interested in one of the best raw foods dishes I ever made, check out this raw taco salad recipe.

These are so easy to make. Throw stuff in a food processor, stick it in a pan to mold the shape, and that’s pretty much it. You can, and should, do this. Get creative and share your own recipes!

APRICOT PUMPKIN PIE RAW “LARABAR”

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 and 1/4 cups medjool dates (no pits)
  • 1 and 1/4 cup dried apricots
  • 1 Tbsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 and 1/2 cups raw almonds

Put all the dried fruit into the food processor and process until it is a gummy blob. Note, this made my food processor FREAK OUT and it was shaking so much it actually started moving across the counter! I had to nearly sit on top of it to hold it down. I don’t know why this happened, but don’t be alarmed.

Homemade Larabars

Homemade Larabars

Put the dried fruit blob into a large bowl. Put the raw almonds into the food processor and process until broken down into small pieces – just be careful you don’t completely turn them to dust!

Raw vegan breakfast bar

Put the almonds in the bowl with the fruit, and start mixing with your hands until everything is one solid lump. Add the pumpkin pie spice and mix that through (if using).

Raw Vegan Larabars recipe

Put parchment paper in a square or rectangle pan (nothing too big, an 8 x 8 baking ban would work), so that the mixture is about 1/2 inch thick, and flatten it even all around. You can also spray with cooking spray if you don’t have parchment paper.

DIY Larabars

Put this in the freezer for 20-30 minutes to harden it up. Take it out, turn it over on a cutting board. Cut bars into the sizes you want. This recipe/pan size made 8 bars for me. You can also use cookie cutters to make fun shapes, and roll the “leftover” bars into little snack balls.

DIY raw vegan Larabars

Homemade raw vegan Larabars with apricots and almonds

Wrap them individually in plastic or store in a container with a lid. Keep them in the fridge. I have to imagine they last at least a week, though we ate them well before that.

This recipe is so easily adapted to make so many flavor combinations. I have a few other ideas up my sleeve and I’ll be sure to share those if I try them and they work. Get un-cooking!

11 thoughts on “DIY LARABARS: Apricot Pumpkin Pie raw vegan snack bars

  1. Awesome! I think I will try a variation of these tonight! And the fruit seems to hold evreything together without sticky agave or brown rice syrup? Sweet!

    • Yup, exactly. Just make sure whatever dried fruit you use is still… how do I say it, sort of juicy? Like I don’t know if these would work with ONLY apples as the fruit, because those get really dry. But have fun experimenting!

  2. this is an awesome recipe! i made my first home made lara bars today with dried cherries, dates, walnuts and cinnamon :) i never would have thought of making these myself if you didn’t post this, thank u!

  3. My husband and I are taking a trip down to Oregon in July to a gathering for Fiat X1/9 owners and all there’ll be to eat is barbecue and a little diner. Needless to say if I want to stay raw I have to bring my own food, and these will make a great lunch! :)

  4. Pingback: Pumpkin pie 'Larabars' « MidwestVeg.com MidwestVeg.com

  5. I just made these ! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe , So yummy and my none vegan family loved it too ! i didn’t have pumpkin spice so i used some cinnamon instead <3

  6. Pingback: PUMPKIN PIE ENERGY BARS: Homemade Raw Snacks on the Go | Save the Kales!

Leave a Reply

