PARSLEY WALNUT PESTO: Put it on Everything

Parsley was once the curly green garnish I left on my plate when my Mom, Gram and I would eat lunch at the old Boscov’s in Wilkes-Barre. I would gleefully eat the whole lemon slices from everyone’s iced teas, but every time I’d take a nibble of the parsley (and I did try, each time), I couldn’t understand WHY it existed except to work up my then-budding OCD by being the only remaining thing on a clean plate.

These days, I am a total parsley convert. I always have it, and it’s notoriously the only plant I’ve been able to grow and keep alive for an entire season. I’m talking about the flat leaf, or Italian parsley – the curly kind is still quite bitter and leaves something to be desired.

A natural breath freshener thanks to some aromatic oils in the leaves, parsley is a health food, touting a good amount of Vitamin C among other notable benefits.

This past Saturday as I was squished up in bed flipping through the new Whole Living magazine (one of my all-time favorite publications), I found this simple recipe. The ingredients are minimal, and like me, you may have everything on hand already.

*The original recipe calls for orange sweet potatoes; I had white sweet potatoes on hand, but orange would be great and look pretty, too!

ROASTED SWEET POTATOES WITH PARSLEY WALNUT PESTO

INGREDIENTS

  • 3-4 sweet potatoes, cut into “fries”
  • 7 Tbsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 cups fresh flat leaf parsley
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/2 cup raw walnuts (toast them if you’d like)
  • zest of one lemon
  • juice of 1/2 lemon

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Put the sweet potatoes in a bowl (you may need to do this in two batches) and toss with 1 Tbsp olive oil, just enough to lightly coat, and season with salt and pepper. Put them on a rimmed baking sheet in the oven for 20-25 minutes. Turn once turing cook time. They will be tender and just starting to brown.

Roasted white sweet potatoes.

While the potatoes are in the oven, make the pesto. Blend the remaining ingredients in a food processor. You will need to stop and scrape down the sides of the processor once or twice to make sure everything is mixed through. Pesto will have somewhat of a chunky paste consistency.

Parsley walnut pesto.

Allow the potatoes to cool for a few minutes. Plate the potatoes, then use a spoon or brush to spread the pesto over them. The hot potatoes will melt the pesto a little. Mmmm.

White sweet potatoes and Parsley Walnut Pesto.

White sweet potatoes with Parsley Walnut Pesto.

You will likely have at least 1/2 cup of the pesto left over. Use it as a spread on sandwiches (it would be delicious mixed into some Vegenaise), tossed with pasta, or spread over more roasted veggies.  Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “PARSLEY WALNUT PESTO: Put it on Everything

  1. sounds so good-I make a broccoli walnut pesto that is soooooo good! and you are right- it is good on everything and so much better than that store bought junk they call pesto…can’t wait to try your recipe with parsley

  2. Ok, we are leading parallel lives. This is the VERY first recipe I made from that issue, and I made it on Friday. So good! This is too funny! I did it with sweet potatoes but I think it would be MUCH better on straight up russets or Yukon golds. Everyone gobbled them up in equal measure, including the boys.

    • You are my soul sister. We ate them on Saturday during “Sunday on Saturday” which meant: lounging in pajamas until 5pm, reading magazines, watching movies, etc… I made a huge tray of them and we had a lot left over and that’s all we ate until dinner that night. SO GOOD. Cheap, too! Win-win. Today I used the leftover pesto for roasted veggies and pasta.

Leave a Reply

