CLEAN FOOD: Steamed Veggies over Quinoa with Paprika Tahini Sauce

We all have roles in our relationships, and it’s probably no surprise that in my romantic/home relationship I am the cook and grocery shopper. I know where to find the ingredients I need at almost any store in an eight mile radius, as well as how much of that ingredient I’ll need.

Soooooo much ginger.

So when I got very sick and Ryan, bless his heart, did our shopping two weeks ago, he did it a little differently. When I told him to pick up some fresh ginger – “a good amount” as I wrote it down (to his credit I wasn’t very specific) – I was thinking of a larger piece instead of a small chunk.

Well, he sure did bring home a “good amount”.  About two pounds worth of ginger, to be exact.

Once I set some aside to freeze (I just found out you can do that!), and after slicing a bunch to add to tea, I also needed to cook with it.

I came up with this very simple, cleansing dish to use up some veggies we had in the fridge and add some protien and fiber to my diet of…tea.

You can use any veggies or grains on hand. The tahini sauce is the star of this dish.

INGREDIENTS  (improvise!) I steamed some broccoli, carrots and red cabbage til crisp tender. I cooked 1 and 1/2 cups quinoa in 3 cups vegetable broth.

Vegan Tahini Sauce ingredients

PAPRIKA TAHINI SAUCE/DRESSING

  • 1/2 cup tahini (ground sesame seed paste)
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 Tbsp paprika
  • 3/4 cups water
  • salt to taste
  • 1 and 1/2 inch chunk of fresh ginger

*This recipe slightly altered from a recipe as part of a Cleanse from Whole Living Magazine

Put sauce ingredients into a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. Add more of any seasoning to taste.

Steamed Veggies


Steamed Veggies over Quinoa with Tahini Sauce

Steamed Veggies over Quinoa with Tahini Sauce

 This is a healthy and quite filling dish that is easily adapted to whatever you have on hand. The tahini sauce would make a great salad or sandwich dressing, too. Make extra and store in a jar in the fridge for a few days.
Leave a Reply

