Day of Silence

…I’m house-sitting and while I’m there I don’t have internet access anyway. A blessing and a curse. Perhaps it will turn ou, mostly a blessing. It’s a gorgeous setting and there are rooms and shelves full of books and movies, a cozy fireplace, and the prettiest hilltop views of the Valley. I like to peek out the window and try to find my friends’ houses, everything looking small and still like a ceramic town under a Christmas tree.

More importantly, I wanted to use this space to give my deepest condolences and warmest thoughts to Colleen of From Here Now (Colleen also runs the Bethlehem Co-op blog).

A few weeks ago, Colleen mentioned her cat Irie had to spend a lot of time at the vet after becoming ill. Irie was on the mend and in that time, her photo was submitted to a contest of “Holiday Pet Photos” through the facebook page of the vet. The rules were simple: the photo with the most “likes” would win a gift card to the vet.

Irie cat and her personal Christmas tree.

Between working more closely with Colleen once again via Co-op meetings, and helping find votes for Irie online, I feel like I learned a lot about this little precious cat. By the end of the contest, Irie had nearly 300 “likes” (and came in second by less than 10 votes – thanks everybody!).

The best part of the contest was reading the comments under Irie’s photo, people rooting for her and asking Colleen questions about her name and such. Seeing the “like” number jump every few days as more and more people, many whom Colleen never met, showed their small support to this cat in the hopes of helping to pay for medical costs.

–             –            –             –           –

Yesterday I found out that Irie passed away. While I could go on about the loss of pets,or how meaningful and loving they are to us, this is a very personal thing for Colleen – so I want to share her lovely tribute to Irie the cat.

Read FROM HERE NOW: Everything Gonna Be Irie

I will end with this. After my first dog died when I was finishing high school, my mother and I contemplated getting another after some time. The sting of the death was still so raw, I told my Mom I didn’t know if I could do it again, knowing that some day all living things will die. She taught me a simple and true lesson that day:

“You can’t not love something just because you’re afraid one day it won’t be there anymore.”

(Thanks, Mom. R.I.P. Irie the cat.)

4 thoughts on “Day of Silence

  1. Thanks so much for this, Jaime. It was so lovely to see how people rallied around her in her last days, even though we didn’t realize her end was near. Ironically, that gift card ended up giving her the greatest gift of peace. You are a very kind woman, and your compassion is an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

