RAW TACO SALAD: Ultra-Healthy Spin on a Typically Unhealthy Dish

After Musikfest ended, Ryan and I both noticed our bellies seemed unhappy with us. Just sort of puffy and full-feeling but always hungry, and just… blehhhh. I guess eating a lot of fried, starchy food and mugs of beer can do that to you. (Really, Jaime, you should know better.)

 So I’ve made a point to incorporate not only more whole foods into our meals following the ‘Fest, but more raw foods. I have a fascination with raw foods – mainly, the incredibly creative recipes that raw foodists and cooks dream up. When you can make pumpkin cheese ravioli WITHOUT butter, eggs, milk, pasta or COOKING, you have my attention.

I went to my first Raw Foods class back when I worked at Farm Sanctuary in Watkins Glen, NY and would pilgrimage to Ithaca every chance I got, to the Mecca that was: Green Star Food CoOp.  About 30 of us huddled together for our cooking class where I got to sample raw zucchini pasta with raw tomato-basil sauce. Amazing. 

(Note: The time I lived in Watkins Glen and frequented Ithaca, Ryan was also living in Ithaca. I like to think we met many years ago in that wonderfully progressive oasis of a town.)

I was searching web cooking videos when I came across the blog Girl Gone Raw. It’s very professional, friendly, colorful and packed full of information about health, the benefits of raw foods, and of course the RECIPES.  Right there on the main page was a recipe for a raw taco salad. One glance and I realized I have everything needed to make it, so off I went to work on a salad so good – so tasty and healthy – I’ve had it four times in the last week.

This is not my recipe, but these are my photos and my praise and endorsements. Make this as soon as you possibly can. (I did alter the dressing recipe slightly, but it’s still raw.)

RAW TACO SALAD via Girl Gone Raw blog

Taco meat:
1 cup of walnuts
5-6 sundried tomatoes, soaked 1-2 hours
1 clove of garlic
1 Tbs cumin
1 tsp coriander
1/2 tsp chili powder
pinch of sea salt
Blend ingredients together in a food processor until it looks like taco meat. Place in the center of a platter & surround with salad toppings.

Taco "meat" before processed.

Taco "meat" after. Looks convincing, right?

Salad part: 
1 head of green or red leaf lettuce, shredded
2 tomatoes, diced
1-2 ears or corn, corn removed
¼ cup of diced onion
1 avocado, diced
½ lemon or lime juiced

Surround taco meat with shredded lettuce & top with remaining salad ingredients,

Dressing:
1 cup of cashews
1 1/4 cups of water
zest from 1 lime
juice from 1 lime
pinch of sea salt

***I added some tahini and nutritional yeast to the dressing! -JK

Blend everything in a high speed until smooth & creamy. Pour into a 16 oz jar. Drizzle some over top of the salad & save the rest for later. Store in refrigerator.

Raw Taco Salad with cashew-lime dressing.

Dinner, then lunch (then dinner again then lunch again) is served!

I’ll have to include more raw recipes here. Not only are they tasty and creative, but you feel GOOD and powerful after eating them.

Hop over to GIRL GONE RAW and see what else Elizabeth is not cooking up! 

13 thoughts on “RAW TACO SALAD: Ultra-Healthy Spin on a Typically Unhealthy Dish

  1. THANK YOU for sharing my taco salad with your readers, Jaime! YOU RAWK! I loved reading your post & seeing your pictures. It’s so fun how we can all inspire one another through the world wide web. I have bookmarked your page & will check back often. Keep rawkin’ on & saving the Kales … oh how I love Kale! You’ll have to try this kale salad sometime: http://www.girlgoneraw.com/recipes/files/4555c36c5f3aeebdeb24d827f91e9119-12.html Cheers! 🙂 Elizabeth

    • You are just full of tasty and beautiful food ideas, aren’t you? Thank you Elizabeth, for all you do. I’m going to read your blog from beginning to present. Everything is so inspiring🙂

    • Hi Laura, thanks for coming by! I love meeting new folks, especially if they live right here! I’m sure there’s a lot you can teach me, so I’ll look forward to staying connected with you. Thanks for saying hello🙂

  2. Just had this for dinner and it is amazing. I would happily serve this up to my omni friends. This is going to become raw recipe staple number 2 in my repertoire, after zucchini pasta😛 Thank you so much!

  3. Pingback: DIY LARABARS: Raw Vegan Snack Bars | Save the Kales!

Leave a Reply

