APPLIANCE ADOPTION: Welcome Home Vita-Mix!

I arrived home from Vegetarian Summerfest 2011 a changed woman. A better one.

Welcome to the family, we already love you as if we had you forever.

I am still processing and reflecting on everything that happened in the week, so until I can give you a proper update, let me share some good news: After watching several vita-mix demos per day at Summerfest, I decided to finally purchase one. These bad boys have a seven year warranty, and will make cooking for commercial occasions so much simpler. Plus, you know, I want smoothies.

So far today I’ve been eating all my food in liquid form. It’s too hot to chew things.

Breakfast

Β BREAKFAST was shared with Ryan. This smoothie included apple, pineapple, grapes, orange, cucumber and carrot. Tasty and filling. It also gave me a ton of energy – I’ve been cooking and cleaning like a domestic goddess and not until 2:15pm did I start to feel hungry!

Lunch on a hot day

So for LUNCH I made a green smoothie, heavier on the veggies. This included celery, cucumber, orange, romaine lettuce, spinach, avocado, cilantro and lemon. The color is so gorgeous I can’t stop staring at it, and being able to drink all these goodies in liquid form means it’s like giving yourself a shot of vitamins.

Last night I made an excellent dinner with the help of the vita-mix, and I am so excited about the nachos I think I’ll sell them at an event at the end of the month! (See: “Decade of Dumb Decisions” on July 31st! Square of Opposition Records has been around for as long as I’ve lived in the Lehigh Valley!)

Dinner last night was: Vegan nachos with jalepeno salsa and smoked cheddar “cheese” sauce, and Black Bean Tortilla soup! Everything homemade except the tortilla chips!

Vegan Nachos and Tortilla Soup

Homemade salsa and smoked cheddar "cheese". HEAVEN.

Black Bean Tortilla soup with avocado and cilantro garnish!

I know, I know, the Vita-mix isn’t cheap, but this is truly an example of “you get what you pay for”. I have also made Coconut Lemon ice cream and another green drink that Ryan said tasted like pickles… Woopsies.

I promise those of you in my area will get to reap the benefits of this machine when it helps to make your future Save the Kales! food orders!

And go HERE to see the facebook page of one of the awesome guys who kept me vita-mix nourished last week! He is awesome, knowledgeable, and can give you some recipe ideas.

7 thoughts on “APPLIANCE ADOPTION: Welcome Home Vita-Mix!

  1. I have been wanting to get one of these, so it is cool to see all the yummy things someone else made with it! What was in the pickle smoothie thing? That actually sounds really good to me. I am so obsessed with pickles, anything pickled and anything with a super vinaigrey bit that it is insane!

    • Hey Jill! Yeah I thought I would have to wait until a wedding or something to get one of these, but I wanted it now! It’s so worth it! People I talked to have had theirs since the mid 90’s and it’s still going strong!

      The pickle thing was a bunch of green veggies but also a lot of lemon, and I think the lemon mixed with another veggie (maybe raw cabbage, don’t remember), plus the fact that it was green, made it taste sort of pickle-ish. Though you can probably do something with vinegar or lemon, cucumbers, and fresh dill and make a really intentionally pickley drink!πŸ™‚

    • I can’t wait to see your post about summerfest this year. I have been trying to write about it all week but keep getting overwhelmed and almost make it 100 pages long, or feel like I can’t do it justice.

  2. Hello! I was wondering if you have your nacho cheese recipe posted on your blog somewhere. If not, could you provide it?

    Also, as cheesy (haha) as this sounds in my head I’m going to say it anyways. From what I know about you via your blog you won’t mind.

    YOU ARE SUPER INSPIRATIONAL. You are always so positive and up beat in your writing and in your responses to people’s comments. Obviously there are tons of blogs with positive writers but yours just seems so refreshing. Thanks a million for being such an awesome vegan cook, animal lover, human lover, and rad lady!

    Emily

    • Hi Emily! Holy moly, thank you for this amazing comment. Wow. I feel like superwoman nowπŸ™‚ Thank you for taking a moment to say something so sweet and offer some positivity of your own. It seems like the internet is just flooded with people whining, griping, complaining, insulting, being jerks to each other (especially in the comments section of nearly anything… yikes! Can’t even read them sometimes, it makes me upset!), so thank you for adding to the beauty of the internet, the part that let’s us connect to each otherπŸ™‚

      I don’t have *exactly* that cheese recipe posted, but if you look in my videos for the vegan cheese sauce, the nacho cheese is sort of pumped up variation of that sauce. The sauce in the vieo is a really good base, and then you can add all kinds of spices and flavors and mold it to fit what you’re making. Come to Bethlehem sometime and I’ll make nachos for youπŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

