JUMBARS: Bethlehem Restaurant Week and an Awesome Breakfast

Jumbars in Bethlehem, PA

This past weekend kicked off Bethlehem Restaurant Week! Participating downtown restaurants make special menus that allow you to try entrees and side dishes for a low fixed price. Go HERE to find out more!

On Sunday morning Ryan and I walked to Jumbars, a quaint little lunch and breakfast spot owned by Emily, one of the nicest folks around. Going to Jumbars feels like walking through a pretty New England town. Everything is colorful, cheerful, and made with love.

They have a great menu – very vegetarian friendly, and with a day or two notice the owner is happy to make a vegan lunch feast. Thankfully, you can still drop in without notice and get a tasty vegan breakfast!

Great atmosphere.

While a menu staple, I was happy to see the tofu scramble as part of the Restaurant Week menu – which means I got tofu scramble, potatoes, toast AND my side of choice (fresh fruit salad with mangos and berries and grapes) for only $10. Yup, ten bucks.

Tofu scramble with zucchini!

Mango = extra good.

Coffee or tea? Your preference will be met here. While the coffee is top notch (I believe organic/fair trade), there are many choices of tea, most of which are herbal. Sip and enjoy.

Natural Health magazine, awesome breakfast date, coffee and the anticipation of tofu scramble. I LOVE SUNDAYS.

You can help yourself to any flavor of homemade jam for your toast (including the wonderful PEPPER jam – sweet and spicy at the same time, delicious).

Try some of each!

And – this is what really stole my heart – a large shelf full of about twenty kinds of HOT SAUCES. And you can try them all if you want to! Just be careful you don’t get so excited that you nearly knock them all down and create an avalanche of tiny glass bottles if you try to take a photo of them… woopsies!

Including some from the local Easton Salsa Co.

The place does fill up, especially for brunch on Sunday. You shouldn’t have to wait too long (if at all) but keep that in mind. I promise it’s worth it!

INFO

  • JUMBARS Breakast and Lunch
  • Saturday and Sunday 8am-2pm; Monday closed; Tuesday – Friday 8am-3pm
  • They also offer catering (and can do vegan foods!)
  • 1342 Chelsea Ave. Bethlehem, PA
  • Just a few blocks from downtown North Side, about 2 blocks off Center Street
  • Go HERE to link to their website

It makes you want to wear dresses (but you don't have to).

3 thoughts on “JUMBARS: Bethlehem Restaurant Week and an Awesome Breakfast

  1. Wow! I am so out of the loop up here where I live (Poconos). I had no idea I could travel 40 minutes to get tofu scramble! I miss going out for breakfast, so it would be so worth the drive once in a while. Thank you for posting this!

    • Susan, you have to come and visit! There is also another place less than a mile away on Bethlehem’s Southside that also offers tofu scramble and tofu dishes. If you ever want to come to town for the day, give me a yell, you can really make a whole day of it. Also check out the “Vegan Lehigh Valley” facebook group where people are posting a TON of places to eat all over the area, it’s really helpful!

      • I did join the Vegan Lehigh Valley facebook page, and I love it! I would also love to come down and learn about more vegan food options! I don’t know my way around Bethlehem very well other than going to Musikfest, Vegan Treats, or to visit my sister, who lives down there.

Leave a Reply

