PHILLY AND CHEESESTEAKS GO HAND IN HAND.

Luckily for those of us not eating cheese or steak, we can still join the party thanks to many vegetarian and vegan options all over the city!

In fact, HERE is an article that explains why PETA named Phillies stadium the most veg-friendly ballpark for several years!

And what a city it is! Two weeks ago Ryan and I went to Philly for an afternoon. We wandered around a part of the city I’d never been to, any every single house looked like Dwell magazine’s Best of the Year issue. I wonder if historic Bethlehem would throw me out of town if I eventually build a home like this.

I'll take one of these, please.

... And one of these.

And what the heck, throw in a bowling alley for good measure.

It was a hot, hot day but we had fun walking around and finding nice air conditioned places to get bubble tea, etc.

Architectural Antiques Exchange. A huuuggggeee building with salvages pieces from homes, bars, churches, etc.

Perhaps one of the most perfect coffee shops on earth, yes?

Concrete Polish? Polish, as in, all of my family has names that end in "ich" or "ski", my cat's name is Pierogi and I call one of my grandmothers "Bobchi"?

We wound our way through the most insane tailgating I have ever seen to get to the Phillies stadium. You can get VEGAN HOT DOGS there! Among other things!

I am slowly but surely understanding sports.

His shirt explains it!

Around the sixth inning, we ventured down a few levels to get ourselves some veg-steaks. (So what if we had a ton of soft pretzels and vegan hot dogs first?)

Ryan got a vegetarian cheesesteak; I got a vegan chicken steak with buffalo sauce and extra hot peppers!

The fact that it was so messy meant I couldn't inhale it in five seconds and I got to enjoy it longer.

That same tactic didn't work for him, though.

Thank you SO MUCH to Lori and Bob, Ryan’s mom and dad, for sending us off to this game and giving us a really fun, delicious day out!

4 thoughts on “PHILLY AND CHEESESTEAKS GO HAND IN HAND.

  1. Philly is a great town for the foodie. I love that town, and now that I know it’s serving vegan food at the BASEBALL stadium (of all places!!) I love it even more. It’s true that I’m not a vegan or vegetarian, but any town that recognizes the importance of serving ALL its customers (meat eaters or not) scores a home run in my book.

    • Right on! It’s not hard to have a few packs of veggie dogs, or veg-“chicken” or “steak” to throw on a hoagie roll when you have all the other stuff already! Easy peasy. I wish more restaurants would take notice!πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Getting *Funky* With Housing

Leave a Reply

