MEMORIAL DAY PICNIC: Food and Friends

Today I wrote the date “June 1st” and it felt so strange. When I think about all the great things that the past several months are comprised of, it helps to ease the anxiety I sometimes have about the uncertainty of the future (which is strange: I don’t even want there to be certainty, just new chances to take, people to meet and goals to set).

Ryan and I threw together a little Memorial Day picnic at the last minute, and despite the sometimes unbearable heat, it was such a lovely day. Some people stayed for 8 hours and it was sad to see them leave after all the food had been gobbled up, the music turned off and the fire put out.

Here are a few photos of the day (hoping to collect more from friends’ cameras!). A sincere “thank you” to everyone for coming over and sharing your food and sharing your friendship and smiles with us!

Picnic-ing.

Christian and Alison contemplate how many plates of food one can eat in an afternoon.

Food: Israeli cous cous salad with kumquats, apples, fresh dill, other goodies from Jon and Ali; Coconut Curry chickpea cakes; Cilantro Bean dip; Masala Potato Salad; bread from Mike and Sarah; Raspberry Blackout Cake from Chrsitian; vegan Buffalo Wings

Some of the wonderful food!

Christian made this AMAZING CAKE. It’s a Raspberry Blackout cake from Vegan with a Vengeance. It changed all of our lives. I still have some leftover in the freezer and am having trouble eating it only because then there won’t be any left.😦

Raspberry Blackout Cake.

One of my FAVORITES. Vegan basil ricotta whole wheat pizza with fresh arugula, lemon and black pepper.

Thanks to the amazing Lou of  THIS vegan blog, and Kutztown University’s vegan/vegetarian group! She made a Chai Spiced Baklava, as she is also an offical recipe-tester for an upcoming vegan baking book by Kelly Peloza who authored The Vegan Cookie Connoisseur.  It was faaaaabulous. (I have that in the freezer, too!)

Chai Spiced Baklava from Lou; Cucumber Tomato salad from Danielle; Fruit Salad from Tesh

Danielle reaping the potluck benefits!

Lou, still happy and full, despite the blazing sun that followed her unrelentingly.

Danielle brought this AWESOME Dandelion Wine – made from dandelions she picked herself! – which tasted like a creamy pineapple juice. Who knew?

I am so happy about homemade wine! Thanks Danielle.

Sarah, Me and Michell escape the wrath of the sun for a few brief minutes of AC!

Fire pit wind down.

Just before the largest game of Apples to Apples I've ever played. *Note: If you come to our house, we will suck you into this game. It's a given.

Christian has a PETA SNUGGIE. A PETA! SNUGGIE!

Alison left me this wonderful FB comment the day after our party: “Seriously, I’m not kidding- nothing I ate today tasted good (except Christian’s leftover cake). You’ve raised the bar on food so high that all food is crap compared to what we all had yesterday- and I mean everyone’s food was awesome! When can we open a restaurant? Can it be in your backyard and feature apples to apples as the entertainment? We’ll call it Jaime K’s Backyard!”

A hundred thousand smiley emoticons wouldn’t be fun to look at here, but that’s how I feel!

13 thoughts on “MEMORIAL DAY PICNIC: Food and Friends

  1. Looks Like u all ahd a great time! The food looked fantastic! I’m going to have to come try some of this crazy stuff u munch on soon:)
    Love ya

  2. That raspberry blackout recipe is actually from Vegan With a Vengeance, not Veganomicon… sorry, I’m a complete Isa & Terry nerd!

    Anyway, that PETA snuggie looks awesome! Hell, everything’s awesome!

  3. Hi Jamie.
    I met you last winter at the Indie Flea Market and I brought a beach friend along who went crazy over your samples. (She loves your website all the way from the ‘Jersey shore.)
    My name is Jodie Forrest. Danielle Schmidt ( a friend of our family) introduced me to you at the market. I hope to get involved there next time to show my woolen goods.
    I was glad to hear Danielle tell me that you really liked the wine. She and my son picked the flowers and I made the concoction. I have two more batches waiting to prepare, so when you open your backyard restaurant, I’ll be one of your organic wine suppliers! Best wishes for your success! It sounds like you’re in a good place!!
    Regards,
    Jodie

    • HELLO! Wow, we all owe you a round of applause! I am having more of the wine right now actually, and it’s absolutely incredible! One of the most unique wines I’ve ever had, and all the better that YOU made it! Everyone who had it is dying to learn how. Ever consider teaching a class? I want you to be my organic wine supplier for me personally, haha! So wonderful, thank you so much for writing Jodie!

  4. OMG that cake! All of it! With every post you make I am getting closer to packing my bags and moving to your town so we can be friends irl…

    • Angela, do it, or at least come for a visit! The city of Bethlehem is really pumped about all the veg-positive stuff happening here, and are looking to promote it as a Veg-weekend getaway spot.🙂 Pretty neat! I never would have thought that even 5 years ago!

Leave a Reply

