BEST FOOD BLOG: Save the Kales!

It’s a good day when the local paper holds a blog contest, open to the ENTIRE POPULATION of blog writers in the area, and the food winner is a VEGAN blog. I like it. As much as I like sauerkraut, I’m hoping some of the unhealthier Pennsylvnia Dutch recipes this area is built on could get a little revamped (perhaps I can take this on as a spring project!?)

It’s especially fun since the folks at Rodale Press (Organic Gardening Magazine, Men’s Health, Women’s Health, publishers of Alicia Silverstone’s The Kind Diet, etc)… were nominated in the same category. And I won! I love you Rodale, and it’s because I love you so much that I am humbled and even more excited about winning that category!

My other blog, HEART OF STEELcity that shifts the focus from food and my personal life to awesome people, businesses, and events in the Lehigh Valley also won Best NEIGHBORHOOD Blog! Hey now!

Too excited to make a sexy wink, but I give you THIS.

Our blogs be listed on the MorningCall website (which is said to get a new revamp within the next 2 weeks) so we can spread the word a little louder, a little farther. Thank you, everybody, for helping a side-project turned life-business get a little recognition.

I also want to like you to one of my Food category competitors, another vegan blog,Β http://louzilla.wordpress.com/. Awesome Job! Keep on writing, you make crazy desserts!

Thanks Morning Call, Thanks to all the bloggers who’s creativity and passion shoot from their brains to fingers to computer screens.

8 thoughts on “BEST FOOD BLOG: Save the Kales!

    • Jill, wish you could have made it last night, way to take home Best Fitness and Best Overall! I think we are plotting a bloggers get together soon so make sure you attend that!πŸ™‚ Congrats to you, it’s been great getting to know everyone!

  1. Once again, congratulations. πŸ™‚ When I was in elementary school in the late 1980s, I recall high school kids hanging out behind my house – smoking, drinking, littering, defacing property and being generally obnoxious. I thought that Allentown, let alone the entire Lehigh Valley, had nothing to offer socially besides malls and movie theaters. My brother and many of fellow high school graduates couldn’t WAIT to move away. They went to college out of state or in Philly – and when they graduated, they permanently relocated to Philly, Pittsburgh, Boston, New York City, California, Washington state and Florida. I longed to do the same.

    Circumstances prevented me from moving away, and I loathed the prospect of living here for the rest of my life. Then I met a few people in the area who convinced me to take another look at southside Bethlehem, drink with them at Steelgaarden and OBT (heehee), spend the afternoon on Main St. and watch more than one movie a year at 19th St. I was relieved that I wouldn’t have to spend my young adulthood walking through malls, paying $15 at the mainstream movie theaters and testing my limits with alcohol. The ABE area had a CULTURE again, like my grandpa experienced when he grew up here.

    Next, I found fascinating people like you, Alison and George online and was floored that people were deliberately setting up shop in the ABE area! Young, determined individuals opening unique shops, small businesses and blogs. The cities were embracing “alternative” culture (Bethlehem skate park) and taking lessons from neighboring big cities (wide variety of restaurants based on international foods). Exciting stuff.

    Creative people, such as yourself, are introducing the Lehigh Valley to nutritional, ethical ways of eating – and highlighting the efforts of fellow creative people who are transforming the Lehigh Valley for the better in many ways. I’m so glad your hard work has been awarded and promoted to a wider audience. As the months pass, everything is falling into just the right place for you. I can’t even fathom all the additional successes you’ll have by this time next year!

    Go Jaime, go Jaime…πŸ™‚

  2. 1. Congrats again!!
    2. I’ve been wanting to veganize PA dutch standards for a while and make a zine out of it (in fact, I’ve already done 2 or 3 recipes)!! JOINT PROJECT??
    3. Thanks so much for the shoutout!!

    • Thanks girl! I loved seeing both our blogs in the rankings. So awesome! And yes, a joint projects sounds like buckets of fun. I’m pretty sure most of it would entail noodles covered in Earth Balance instead of butterπŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

