TOMATO BLACK BEAN SOUP: Low Fat, High Health, Big Flavor

I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of expressing my love for soup. It’s so easy – you just need take some leftover veggies and a food processor to make something healthy and delicious!

This soup is from a cookbook recipe, so while I can’t take the credit, I CAN tell you it was absolutely tasty and bursting with bright flavors. This makes a great year-round meal.

This one comes to us from what I truly believe is one of the best cookbooks to come out in the last year – Kim Barnouin’s Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Cookbook. I’m a bit of a cookbook junkie, and people often ask me what would be a good book especially if they aren’t already familiar with vegan cooking. THIS book should be on your list. It’s beautiful, full of gorgeous color photos, and the recipes are simple enough that you don’t need to feel like a culinary student to make something amazing.

Skinny Bitch Black Bean and Tomato Soup (p. 99)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 Tbsp oil (olive, grapeseed, etc.)
  • 1 small white or yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 large red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • two 15 oz. cans of black beans
  • 1 large 28 oz. can of stewed tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup corn, fresh or frozen
  • 3 cups vegetable broth (*I recommend using “Better Than Bullion” brand, mix with water)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 tsp worcestershire sauce *** Find a veg-friendly kind, you can use Wizard’s brand or search online for other recommendations!
  • juice of half a lime
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • *** If you want it spicy, add some cayenne pepper
  • 1 Tbsp chopped green onions  (garnish)
  • 1 Tbsp chopped fresh cilantro (garnish)

Heat the oil in a large soup pot over medium heat. Add the onion and saute 3-4 minutes until soft. Add the garlic and red bell pepper, and saute about 30 seconds. Add the chili pepper and cumin, and stir until combined.

Add the black beans, tomatoes, corn, broth, water, oregano, red pepper flakes and worcestershire sauce. Stir and simmer about 15 minutes.

(NOTE: When I first typed this I wrote “ass the black beans”. I won’t begin to try and explain what that could mean, so be thankful I changed it to ‘add’ or we’d all be very messy.)

Transfer half of the soup to a food processor or blender. DON’T BLEND YET. Let soup sit in there about 10 minutes to cool off. Then blend until creamy.

Add the blended half of the soup back to the pot with the unblended soup. Add lime juice and salt.

Garnish with green onions and cilantro. You can also use crushed tortilla chips, lime wedges, red pepper strips or avocado!

This makes about six servings, and check this out: one serving only has 180 calories and 9 grams of fiber! So eat it up.

10 thoughts on “TOMATO BLACK BEAN SOUP: Low Fat, High Health, Big Flavor

  1. Sounds great, but you might consider specifying vegetarian worcestershire, since not everyone realizes that most brands aren’t vegetarian.

    • HA HA. I was doing this so quick and made so many typos.

      Now I want to paint a bunch of plates with red peppers on them. Thank you for bringing this to my attention in such a funny way🙂

  2. Thanks for posting! This soup is perfect🙂 I cook gluten-free for my sweetheart and I have yet to find a vegan-friendly gluten-free Worcestershire sauce. I actually made some one December because I wanted Chex Mix on Xmas, but if you don’t have nine hours or so to make GF Worcestershire, adding some Tamari and Tamarind to this soup are a good substitute.

    • Yeah I was thinking you could maybe combine tamari with some liquid smoke, and likely get a similar effect. Have you made this before/do you have the cookbook? Everything in it is wonderful.

      Do you read the blog Manifest Vegan? My bud Allyson writes that, she’s the sweetest pea in the land and everything is vegan and gluten-free (some older recipes may not be GF so just be sure to check). Warning, your mouth will actually begin to drool when you look at her photos so be prepared!

  3. That looks really delicious and I love the way you presented it on a platter! I have that cookbook but haven’t made much out of it yet. This will definitely be on my list!

  4. This was such an awesome soup!! I am never happy with the soups I make and I was definitely very satisfied with this. I left out the onions and it was still pretty good🙂

  5. Pingback: What’s cookin, good lookin’? | Actively Aware

Leave a Reply

