DO IT! (Out of all the “Its” that You Can Do, Here I’m Talking About Following Your Dreams)

Friends, allow to me give a heartfelt apology for the lack of new updates. “Life intervened” sounds like an excuse, but without getting into melodramatic detail,  there has been a LOT going on – a few wacky moments, a lot of beautiful wonderful moments.


I’m having the incredible experiences (I almost want to say “luck”, but really, it has a lot less to do with luck and a lot more to do with seeking and finding) of meeting so many people in the past two weeks, folks who are working so hard to engage their passions and who are so EXCITED about the wonderful transformation of positivity in the Lehigh Valley. Everywhere I go, someone is starting a project, opening a business, and/or encouraging others to do the same. It’s an incredible time to be in the midst of everything.

Unfortunately, this blog has taken a backseat while I sift through my brain on how to organize all of the excitment. BUT – lots of great stuff is on the way. I’m finally figuring out the new video camera, I have a guest blogger coming in next week with really fresh, smart and insightful views on body image and body issues (she is amazing, I cannot wait!), and of course recipes, nutrition tips, book reviews, art stuff… and on and on.

Until then, I’ve been so inspired by aforementioned inspirational people and situations, I want to share with you some of the thoughts I’ve been focusing on as of late.

Take this for a spin:

A successful screenwriter being interviewed was asked for his secret to success. The screenwriter nodded and replied, “I find if I actually sit down to write a screenplay, I stand a better chance of selling it.”

If you are or want to be something, how often do you practice it? Be honest with yourself. Then decide if a) it’s not that important after all since you never seem to make time for it, or b) it’s super important – in which case, prioritize. If you have time to text your friends all day, check facebook obsessively, and watch 3 hours of reality TV – you can surely find a way to shift that around and, you know, make time for your dreams.

On a similar note, I recently heard a professor speak, in which he referenced a phrase commonly uttered by jazz musicians in the 1950′s:

If you make a mistake, play it again so they think you meant it.

There is no one – NO ONE – else who can dictate what your life “should” be except for you. Not a parent, spouse, coworker or boss. And because life is life, after all, you are going to mess up. Accept that fact, then get over it. Obviously, you try to make as little as possible, but all mistakes are a learning experience if you allow them to be.  Often times, these moments of regret, weakness or simply wishing for a do-over can become the most significant moments of change. It doesn’t always have to be a “mistake”. It can simply be the time where you are trying to adjust to always constant and inevitable change.

(“Make Time” print, $15 from  Daisy Janie)

10 thoughts on “DO IT! (Out of all the “Its” that You Can Do, Here I’m Talking About Following Your Dreams)

    • These types of posts are as much for me as for other people🙂 Easy to forget this stuff, but a lot harder to forget if you practice reading/saying these things every day. Oh also, this: IT’S TRUE.

      It was a challenging week in a lot of ways, but once I got done being emotional for an hour or two, I realized that wallowing around wasn’t going to fix it. The MOMENT you start to take action to change yourself, or something about your situation, you immediately have all the power. “Life” isn’t “bad” or “unfair” anymore. It’s really something!

    • Pam, it’s really charming, and moreover, it’s the sort of place where you can do what you’re good at it and really become “the person” for that thing…. as opposed to a larger city where you may be awsome, but so are hundreds of other people. It’s no longer “cool” to whine and complain about this place — just shut up and make it great! And that’s what everyone is doing. I’m a total nerd about it. Visit come time!

  1. Amen. 🙂 My all-time favorite quote:

    “I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.” – Thoreau

    I’m trying to adopt that philosophy. And when I use things like this or Facebook, it’s more of a place to practice and reflect on what’s important to me. I do it more for myself now, too… instead of using it as a place to vent and focus on/spread negativity by complaining about it being Monday or whining about the weather. In the end, we’ll all be grateful and thankful to have had the opportunity to drive home in the snow and laugh with a co-worker about how nutty the boss is. We only get one chance to live our life… “suck the marrow out of it” and “make it extraordinary.”

    • Yes, I think facebook can absolutely be used for good – unfortunately the internet also gives people the ability to vent immediately, without considering their actions or the fact that it’s the internet, it’s essentially permanent, and um… everyone can see it (including the people they may not have wanted to see it).

      It we use it like we use our voices, our writing, our art, etc… try to spead love, kindness and inspiration I think it could help ease attitudes and remind people that things aren’t all bad. I also use it occasionally to vent, but I would never allow that “venting” to directly insult or hurt someone.

    • Oh thank you! I can’t wait to write the post that will include her – in three sentences she will turn your thoughts about body issues inside out, in a classy and well-informed way. So excited! Check back🙂

Leave a Reply

