HAPPY 30th BIRTHDAY to the Cupcake of My Eye!

I hope you’ll understand today’s shift away from the usual subject of this blog. It’s a very important day and I wish I could announce it to the whole world  - I haven’t figured out how to do that (yet) so allow me to do it here…

Happy 30th Birthday, Ryan Hill!

You are the biggest goofball, the best secret-listener, the most comfortable piece of furniture. You push me to become better every day on my own, but never without the knowledge that you are always supportive the person I become. You make me daydream when I should be working, you make me laugh when I get too worried about all the things that life is not… Cause what it IS, my dear, is fun and amazing and new every day I get to spend it with you.

You have shown me, over and over again, the meaning of unconditional love.  You have been by my side when others would have run away and never looked back. You have supported me in countless ways when I had given up on myself. You have literally dropped everything and come to me when I needed someone, no questions asked.


Thirty years have given me the best man I’ve ever known.You are my whole heart, and my very best friend. I love you to the moon and back.

Happy Birthday, my love!

“I read once that the ancient Egyptians had fifty words for sand & the Eskimos had a hundred words for snow. I wish I had a thousand words for love, but all that comes to mind is the way you move against me while you sleep & there are no words for that.”
- Brian Andreas

(Extra-thanks to our pal Brent for coming by my house this weekend with double-birthday presents of Champagne and fancy schmany glasses for it, and 3 little birthday cakes from Vegan Treats. I’ve never been so happy to have my cake stare back at me!

Thank you, friend! Please excuse the books in the fireplace – a cruel joke, I know – I’m working on the bookshelf situation this weekend.)





“Are you anybody else’s missing piece?”

“Not that I know of.”

“Well, maybe you want to be your own piece?”

“I can be someone’s and still be my own.”

-The Missing Piece, Shel Silverstein


6 thoughts on “HAPPY 30th BIRTHDAY to the Cupcake of My Eye!

    • I don’t mean to be so overly cornball-mushy on here, but since he got to sappy Happy Birthday to me with a microphone and a room of people, this my equivalent of that. :) :) :)

  1. You made me cry….happy tears….I am so glad that my son has found such a generous, kind soul to share his life with….I wish both of you only the best…..

Leave a Reply

