Coffee Lust – Good or Bad?

The day after my computer broke, my hand-eye coordination also broke and I chopped off the end of my thumb while making lunch. I’ll spare you the gory details (keyword: gory) and just let you know that it’s healing well! Thanks for the concern.

(For added fun, be sure to ask where I found the chopped-off part once I got home from the hospital! OR DON’T.)

Life is full of contradictions. Something that comes up in my research and general reading all the time is the subject of coffee. Not the fair trade VS free trade, shade grown or not, etc… stuff – though there is a lot to be said for all of that, too. But rather, an admission:

I’m still not sure if coffee is good for bad for you.

Talk to anyone and they are bound to have some information, or at the very least, an opinion one way or the other. I’ll tell you that I like coffee a lot and drink it almost every day, not because I “need my coffee or I just can’t function” – but for the ritual of it, the flavor, and the occasional caffeine jolt. That’s not to say that sometimes coffee hasn’t made me feel absolutely lousy, too, leaving me dehydrated or jittery when having consumed too much.

In my attempt to be unbaised, I present some of the most common arguments for/against coffee consumption:

Why Some Say Coffee is Bad for Health: Caffeine is a mild addictive stimulant. Coffee can increase heart rate and blood pressure. Can irritate the stomach and bowels. Caffeine crash. Some research shows that coffee can slow calcium absorption.

More Fun: Why Many Believe Coffee Has Health Benefits: Some studies show drinking coffee could reduce the risk of Parkinson’s, Type 2 Diabetes, colon cancer, asthma, and Alzheimer’s, to name a few. Full of antioxidants. Anti-aging benefits.

If you do the research, you’ll find many reputable health facilities and doctors claiming that the benefits of coffee far outweigh the cons. But remember – everything in moderation. One or two cups of coffee may be okay, but having seven will not be better (and my stomach hurts at the thought of it!).

It’s important to remember that the coffee I’m talking about here is NOT a caramel latte or loaded with cream and sugar. If you must use a sweetener, choose something natural (like agave or stevia) and use in moderation.

Check out this cute blog, The Coffee Bump, for little facts and features about coffee, including articles about how coffee supports health!

4 thoughts on “Coffee Lust – Good or Bad?

  1. My husband is a Type 1 diabetic and used to drink a couple cups of coffee everyday. He gave it up completely a few months ago. Since he did, his blood sugar readings have improved as did his A1C. His doctor said coffee does mess with blood sugar levels but why is unknown….

    • Wow, that’s interesting. My friend Eric also pointed out that coffee can affect people on medications, or rather, make the medications not work as they should. All good points.

      I have not heard about it’s affects on diabetes, but that is something to look into. (Glad your husband is feeling well!)

      • So…where was the finger tip? (I have to ask…)

        Glad to know you’re healing well! My kitchen nightmare is also healing up – I blame the zucchini for this injury and thus I will keep devouring them.

  2. I need to know as well… where did you find the tip of your thumb? Ewww… like the cat, curiosity will one day be the death of me!

Leave a Reply

