NEW VIDEO: (This is My Favorite One Yet!) Cheezy Kale Chips

Confession: I’m a fat kid at heart. Forever and ever. I have this habit of watching a lot of the Travel Channel and Food Network when I can’t fall asleep, and that always makes me want to eat bold, flavorful food.

The nutritional part of me wants to say “Bad, bad Jaime! Stop eating right before bed you dummy!” but sometimes I am legitimately hungry and can’t sleep until I fill up the bottomless pit that is my stomach.

Enter: KALE CHIPS. Somehow I never made these until earlier this week, and could kick myself as I have seriously been missing out. These addictive snacks fulfill most of my late-night cravings – crunchy texture, cheese-type flavor, and spicy. And, because they are kale, they are GOOD FOR YOU.

(The late night eating is probably not.)

Here’s my new video for kale chips! (I was in an extra-good mood so this one is a little goofier than the rest. I’m also playing around with how to make them more fun and not just “Hey… I’m standing behind a counter…” Let me know what you think!)

Super simple and inexpensive kale chips should find their way into your homes and bellies. Here’s how to make them:

RECIPE FOR KALE CHIPS

  • 1 bunch kale
  • 1 to 2 TBSP olive oil (start with 1 and add more if needed)
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • a few dashes of sea salt

Remove the stems from the kale leaves, and cut or tear leaves into bite size pieces. Put kale in a large bowl, and add olive oil, MASSAGING into the kale (sexy!). Kale will be coated and shiny. Add remaining dry ingredients and toss with hands.

In an oven set at 250 degrees, put kale on a rimmed baking sheet and spread out (use more than one baking sheet if needed). Leave in the oven for about 25 -35 minutes, until kale is crispy and still a little chewy.

Eat entire bowl full. (It’s going to happen, I’m just being honest.)

*Some people like their kale chips REALLY dry and crispy, so that’s up to you. For me, when they are completely dehydrated they taste a little too “ashy”, so I like them to maintain just a bit of moisture. Keep an eye on them in the oven and take them out when the texture is to your liking.

Storing: If you are making them a little wet and chewy as I suggest, they are best eaten on the same day. They can be stored in tupperware but become more bitter by the next day. Completely dry kale chips will taste the same the next day and can be stored longer, but it’s still best to eat them the sooner the better.

There are MANY recipes for kale chips, so search the internet for more! I made them this way, and they taste like spicy, cheezy deliciousness so I haven’t tried anything else. Let me know if you have a favorite recipe!

(“Fat Kid” print via Rar Rar Press, Etsy $15)

3 thoughts on “NEW VIDEO: (This is My Favorite One Yet!) Cheezy Kale Chips

  1. Pick up lines to Kale? You rock my world. First, I love your glasses. Second, your blog is awesome! Thanks for stealing 5 hours of my life. Must. make.kale.chips.now.

Leave a Reply

