Recipe Improv: Last Night’s Dinner

Wow, 95 degrees AND thunderstorms. What the heck are you supposed to do with weather like that? Last night was one of those times it’s simply too hot to eat. Except, of course, that I’m always hungry. My solution? Make a mostly raw, light dinner.

Here’s what I came up with:

Corn, Black Bean and Strawberry Salad

  • 3 ears of raw sweet corn, kernels removed
  • 1 diced poblano pepper
  • 2 tomatoes with seeds removed, diced
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 pound strawberries, diced (half of a container)
  • drizzle of olive oil
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • a few shakes of garlic powder

Using a knife, carefully cut the kernels off the cobs of corn. Add to large bowl. Chop a poblano pepper after seeds have been removed, and add to bowl. Cut tomatoes in half and squeeze the seeds and liquid into a bowl and discard. Dice seeded tomatoes and add to bowl. Add black beans, cilantro and strawberries.

Mix together. Drizzle a little olive oil and toss. Add cumin and garlic powder and toss again. For more sweetness, cut and add more strawberries.

I turned this salad into a wrap:

  • 1 quarter avocado, sliced, per wrap
  • whole wheat wrap

I put the salad into a wrap and added some fresh avocado to get some healthy fats in there. (Plus, come on, do you need to list reasons to eat avocados? Isn’t the fact that they are delicious simply enough?)

The strawberries blend well with the sweetness of the raw corn, and make this a light and very refreshing meal. You could play up the spicy factor and add more hot peppers or make a hot sauce, or compliment the sweet strawberries with a balsamic glaze. I ate it without any dressing or sauce and it was really fresh and tasty!

This is great weather for eating fresh, raw foods but man, I want it to be September. I long for sweater weather.

8 thoughts on “Recipe Improv: Last Night’s Dinner

  1. That does sound good! You are right about the avocado btw- what better reason than delicious and healthy! I have to admit I was a skeptic about strawberry with anything salty or spicy, bc as a kid I always dipped my strawberries in sugar- but I sliced some very ripe strawberries and threw them on a salad w/ some basil balsamic vingerette recently and now I am believer in the versatility of berries!

  2. This look delicious! I want to try it! Curious though, would it taste majorly differently if I didn’t add peppers? I’m not a big fan of them.

  3. This looks fantastic. You should run one of those home meal delivery services. :) I’m also curious to know if anything would need to be adjusted if the hot peppers and spices were removed… unfortunately, I’m really sensitive to that stuff.

    • Just don’t add anything you don’t like, it’s as simple as that! Sometimes we forget what whole, fresh foods taste like, but they are so wonderful. There is a sweetness in raw corn that is enhanced by the strawberries, so enjoy that!

  4. Pingback: Mad Corny, Yo « Brooklyn According to Jana

Leave a Reply

