Turn That Frown Upside Down – Party Time

Friends and Readers (one in the same),

I am equally overwhelmed and humbled by your support and absolutely beautiful, candid responses to what was a very negative situation. Sometimes I forget that not everyone reacts to adversity with calm and understanding, and the events at the beginning of the week were difficult to comprehend. I don’t have much of a backbone, though I think if it can be said any good has come from this, it is that my backbone is strengthened and (don’t mind if I say) I’m even proud of myself for staying true to my morals of respect and open-mindedness.

There was a 48 hour period when I had contemplated shutting down the whole thing, feeling deeply disheartened that my attempt at doing something so good – and doing it with humility and vulnerability along the way – had been subject to so much harsh criticism.

BUT… I soon learned that anybody that’s ever done ANYTHING has faced opposition, critics and sometimes just plain mean ridicule. I tried to see the situation as what can be considered, perhaps, complimentary that my message is reaching enough people that’s even worthy of such a reaction. (They always say, the day you become a sketch on Saturday Night Live, you know you’ve “made it”.)

The mission of this blog – beyond cooking, beyond screenprints of corn and eggplants, past the rambling videos – is to put forth a message of living your truth, and doing it with compassion. It’s so easy for something like this to turn us hard, bitter, to make us want to quit. In the end, it’s simply not worth it. “You just can’t please everybody.” But it fills my heart to know I have pleased and even inspired so many of you.

“Thank you” is merely eight letters and cannot begin to convey how much your kindness has meant to me, but thank you. Thank you, thank you. Times a million.

And to help close the case in the most celebratory way…

THIS SUNDAY is the Save the Kales/Remember PICNIC IN THE PARK!

Here are full event details as per Andrew’s Blog, Remember:

“I have rented pavilion number three at Cedar Beach Parkway for this event. THIS IS A LINK FOR DIRECTIONS FROM ROUTE 22 TO THE PAVILION.

Now, the main event will be a Cook Off which I announced on here yesterday evening. Entries will be accepted from 2 until 2:45 with judging beginning at 3. After the winner is crowned, everyone eats!

Around 4:45, Jaime and I (more to come) will be giving short talks about sustainable eating and sustainable parks with a question and answer session.

Following that, local musician Joe Tkach will be playing an acoustic set.

And then, straight relaxing until the sun sets!

Bring Frisbees!, Bring Friends!, Bring Family!, Bring Dogs!

Most Importantly, Bring yourself!


Leave a comment or send me an email (andrewkleiner@gmail.com) if you want to bring food for the contest or help out in anyway.Β  There will be a lot needing to get done over the next week as the event approaches.

Jaime and I are really excited about this and this is promising to be the exact kind of day you will be remembering down the line.Β Β  We hope to see you there!”

CLICK HERE FOR DETAILS ON THE COOKOFF!

To sum up:

  • FREE event! Family and pet friendly
  • Save the Kales! is providing several vegan dishes for tasty noshing
  • Sign up for the COOK OFF, or simply bring a dish for everyone to share
  • 3:00 judging of cook off entries
  • EAT, HANG OUT, LAUGH, PET DOGS
  • 4:45, Talks about sustainable eating/Local environmental efforts by me and Andrew
  • An acoustic set by the super-duper talented, Joe Tkach

We’ll say the unoffical “start” of the picnic is 2pm. We have the pavillion til dusk. You are welcome to come and go as you please – in the end, this is an excuse to get together with great people and spend a day outdoors. (We also like nature and eating, so we’re working those in too, of course.)

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, just ask me here or: savethekales@gmail.com

I’ll see you there and we will hug and high-five each other!

6 thoughts on “Turn That Frown Upside Down – Party Time

  1. i’m bummed that i can’t come for the fun. that day sounds amazing. my dogs would love it, and so would my belly!

    you look cute in that pic!
    πŸ˜‰ w

  2. Pingback: IN 3 DAYS: HIPSTERS COOK FOOD AT CEDAR BEACH « Remember

  3. “Never let a wishbone grow where your backbone should be.” That’s a quote from a diary I had as a teenager, so I wanted to share, but I think that its important to have a backbone AND a wishbone. I am going to do everything I can to make it this shindig– I know Dante would have a great time, and I will bring some homemade JAM! (I will first check that the pectin I used is vegan friendly, which I am already 99.9% sure it was fruit pectin, but if there can be meat in fresh tomatoes, who knows what else it could be in!?!

Leave a Reply

