Ketchup. (ie. Catch Up.)

I did it. I went through an entire 36 hours without even turning on my computer. I felt equal parts free and unattached but also, frankly, out of the loop. I have so many ideas for posts, but I’m going to dive back in slowly today with a completely random list of things I like right now. And if you haven’t given yourself a break in a little while, take it from me: please do. And enjoy some of these things while you do it.

1. WINK ‘zine. Those wonderful ladies on South Side Bethlehem have done it again. WINK Pinup has branched off to make a completely original, female-positive ‘zine. Articles include the significance of DIY culture, why dressing for YOU (wearing what you like despite trends and such) is an empowering, personal choice and a stroll through Home & Planet, an eco-friendly, modern homewares store in town. Oh, and I was the cover girl and centerfold! (NEVER thought I’d say that in my lifetime!) There’s a brief interview with me inside, talking about food and cooking and my attempt at makes vegetables sexy.

If you’d like a copy of WINK zine, they are floating all over South Side, or email me at savethekales@gmail.com and ask for one and I’ll mail one to you. These are FREE, and this is the first of many issues. I love you WINK. I’m winking at you right now.

2.  *EDIT: Earlier, I posted Chocolate Cheerios as a tasty, albeit unhealthy snack. It has been brought to my attention that the ingredient “D3” is made from SHEEPS WOOL (!? why is that in cereal!?). So, woopsies! And thanks to those of you who helped me out with that one. Learning is fun.

*NOTE: As I was writing the above paragraph, I meant to write “huge candy bar” but instead first wrote “hug candy bear”. The best slip-up typo ever. I feel like it perfectly illustrates the inner workings of my brain, which is 90% full of thoughts of hugging animals, all day at any given time.

3. Endangered Species Lego exhibit. I need to preface my like of this by saying at the moment it’s at the Philadelphia Zoo. And faithful readers, we know all about the unfortunate badness of zoos. But the exhibit itself is a really unique and fun, unpretentious way to bring light to the severity of animals in danger of extinction. Lego Artist Sean Kenney has made 34 endangered species made completely of legos (over 250,000 of them). The lego animals are life-size and planted around the zoo in cages (boo). But the idea is fantastic and I hope this moves to a museum!

4. The Vegan Girl’s Guide to Life: Cruelty-free Crafts, Recipes, Beauty Secrets and More by Melisser Elliot. OH MY GOODNESS. This book is not set to come out until November, but please join me in anticipation! Melisser is the Urban Housewife, more than just a fancy title she gave herself as it’s also the name of her award-winning blog. She also runs a San-Francisco vegan bakery called Sugar Beat Sweets. Since this book’s release is still far off, I can’t give a detailed review BUT based on Melisser’s general awesomeness, I know we can expect good things. Plus, she’s a cute vegan girl with a sassy haircut and tattoos. What’s not to love?

5. Animal Rights checks. Thanks to electronic billing, using paper checks has become a rarity for most people, but if you’re looking for a way to send your bill collectors a message, check out the many checks that benefit various animal- and earth-friendly organizations. Some include Farm Sanctuary, PETA, the  National Audubon Society and Greenpeace. You can see an extensive list of checks here.

6. What I Eat poster. What a great idea! I’m sure most of you know that when people find out you eat vegan, they become exasperated and baffled, followed by “What DO you eat?!” This stunning poster was made to answer that question. This is a nice sized poster, 18″x24″, and would look gorgeous hanging in your kitchen. Also, check out the budget friendly price of only $12.o0!!!   This item is for sale on Herbivore Clothing, and while you’re there check out all of the other fantastic items including t-shirts, stickers, and a wonderful book selection.

7. VegetarianStar.com. It’s a guilty pleasure to read about Hollywood gossip (Though I admit, I mostly thumb through US Weekly specifically to look at the fashion). But this is a site I feel less-guilty about. Vegetarian Star is a celebrity blog with the specific goal of highlighting veg*n celebrities and issues. It’s also inspiring to read about super rich people that are passionate about something so important! The site has recipes, videos, and all the veggie-themed celeb gossip you can handle. Read it at VegetarianStar.com

What are you really loving right now?

8 thoughts on “Ketchup. (ie. Catch Up.)

  1. that’s so awesome about the ‘zine! congrats! of course you are on the cover, you sound surprised!
    what am i loving right now? golden girls reruns, discovering veg friendly restaurants, and homemade vegan pizza. yum
    ~wendy

  2. Hey, Just passing through vegan blogs and noticed that chocolate cheerios aren’t vegan (I was excited and looked it up!). On top of the sugar someone mentioned (which may or may not be of vegan origin), they contain vitamin D3, which is a derivative of lanolin, which comes from sheep’s wool. Too bad😦

Leave a Reply

