“Cabbage: A vegetable about as large and wise as a man’s head.”

It’s going to be a series of gray, windy days, so let’s lighten things up with some art, shall well? While searching for products for my “packing a lunch” post, I accidentally stumbled upon a very neat theme of printed art on Etsy – vegetable art!

Stay with me, guys. I’m not talking about those potato-prints you did in 2nd grade… although, they were pretty neat. I mean these very neat posters and stationary cards from clever print artists. For very reasonable prices, these beauties would look so cute framed and hung in your kitchen! Get rid of the rooster or sunflower themes you currently have (please!?), and try something handmade and kitschy instead.

This Corn Nerd print by Wonderthunder is the print that inspired this entry! Corn!!! Wearing GLASSES! And an argyle SCARF! Could anything be cuter and better than this? Is it wrong of me to say that the corn is kind of… attractive? Print is 6″ x 12″, and is one of only 50 made. All this for only $10. Go here and see the rest of the shop for more prints of food in clothes, and the cutest slice-of-bread pillow you’ve ever seen! http://www.etsy.com/shop/wonderthunder

I love type and text in art! The colors in this one are bold and bright. This is a series of “signs” the artist made in honor of some phrases that parents tell their kids over and over, like Eat Your Vegetables. “Use this series to remind your kids to toe the line, or to keep a spouse or significant other on the straight and narrow.” You tell ’em!  No one will ever forget the brussels sprouts again. Cost $60 at: http://www.etsy.com/shop/johnwgolden

How can so many wonderful things fit in one print? Letterpress type, retro inspired design, Farmers Markets, and that lovely green cabbage! My eyes can’t handle it, I need sunglasses to help with the radiation of awesome. This Farmers Market Produce print is one of many by YeeHaw designs. Simply lovely, and for only $25! See the rest of their fresh colorful produce art here: http://www.etsy.com/shop/YeeHaw

Do you know a veg-couple that needs a wedding or housewarming gift? Check out this Delectable Duo. Artichokes and mushrooms love each other in real life, too, I’m quite sure. You get both prints as a handsome set, for a mere $40. They are limited edition of 80/each, so click here and order some right away!  http://www.etsy.com/shop/nateduval

Have you ever looked at a block of tofu and thought, “Gee, you’re cute”? I know I can’t be the only one! Now you can get all your tofu-hugs out without making a mess of your clothes and wasting food. This Plush Tofu Pirate wants to be squeezed, and he could make a cute gift for a veggie child, too. Why is he a pirate? Why NOT a pirate, I say! Yarrr he’s only $12, go here or walk the plank: http://www.etsy.com/shop/pandawithcookie

Where my gardeners at!? I am so envious of anybody with a tiny plot of land for which to grow their own food. I’ve tried basil plants many times, and it always ended in tragedy. If you have a garden, I have some plants for you. 1. Give me some of your lovely veggies, please 2. Get this awesome Grow Your Own Food print and show your pride! Gardening is cool, and this proves it.  Only $20 – this and many more fantastic prints here: http://www.etsy.com/shop/bluebicicletta

Did you know vegetables could be so elegant? I am in love with set of 10 Bahay Kubo prints, all made with oil-based ink and colors are hand painted. Each print has a vegetable, and the Filipino name of the vegetable at the bottom. These can be ordered individually, but for only $65 the entire set would look perfect framed and scattered around your kitchen! Shop here: http://www.etsy.com/shop/pabili

What vegetable do you think is the most fun to look at? The many layers of the pointy artichoke? The soft smooth purple of an eggplant? Tell me!

12 thoughts on ““Cabbage: A vegetable about as large and wise as a man’s head.”

  1. Awesome post–thanks so much for including me! I love vegetables, cabbage especially. Also I am in love with the Delectable Duo! I also love anything from YeeHaw Designs!

    Nicole

    • You are so very welcome. I’m just happy to know other people out there get as excited about pretty veggies as I do! Can’t wait to get some of your stuff for my new place. I would like one of everything, please!

      • Oh, also I just mentioned this post over at my blog, hope that’s OK. And I forgot to say what vegetable I think is the most fun to look at—artichokes are very high on that list—I love it when they have a touch of purple. I had artichokes in my wedding centerpieces (got married last fall). They were gorgeous! I also love some of those chards with colorful stems and veins.

  2. Pingback: Interview with ZAPOLdesigns and Vegetable Art with Save the Kales! « blue bicicletta

  3. LOL, I saw your farmers’ market poster and thought for a second that you live in Knoxville. The Market Square Farmers’ Market happens here in good ol’ Knoxville, TN. I got my hopes up …🙂

    • If that was the case, I’d have asked you to go out and find yummy meals with me already! Though, I have always wanted to visit TN and there is a chance I will have more opportunities to travel in the fall. Keep me in mind, eh?

Leave a Reply

