“Speak your Truth”.

My exercise of choice is running. I started a few years ago when I found myself feeling out of shape, and noticed all the time I spent complaining and feeling bad about it could be spent actually doing something to change it (imagine that!).

Last year I started searching for podcasts to keep me company during runs, and came upon something so wonderful you must believe when I tell you it has been, quite literally, life-changing. Colleen Patrick-Goudreau  is a Vegan Warrior to say the least. She is a cookbook author, writer, podcast producer, a teacher of cooking classes and lectures – to name a few.

You can find out about all of her endeavors through her website, Compassionate Cooks (.com) – and here’s a short video where she talks about her transition to veganism.

Today I want to draw your attention to her podcast, “Vegetarian Food for Thought”.  I was searching for something that would give me some recipe ideas, and what I found in this podcast is so much more! For starters, Colleen is very well-spoken and deeply intelligent. Her vocabulary alone will make you feel smarter, but it is the eloquence with which she speaks about issues often times difficult to articulate. Topics range from favorite foods to the historical context of vegetarianism to how to be the lone vegan at a party.

She can talk about lentils for twenty minutes and make it interesting. More than that, her enthusiasm and encouragement  for a more peaceful world, and a deeper understanding of self and others are the invaluable gifts you will gain as a listener.  Never “preachy” and always inspiring, Colleen has become a personal hero and one of the factors that motivated me to start this blog!

Go, right now, to itunes and find the podcast “Vegetarian Food for Thought” and download every episode. And keep an eye out for her cookbooks at your local bookstore, “The Joy of Vegan Baking” and “The Vegan Table”.

4 thoughts on ““Speak your Truth”.

  1. i looove love love Colleen and her podcasts. they are making being newly vegan easier and her information is empowering me to be a more confident vega. i love that you call her a “Vegan Warrior,” that’s exactly what she is. some of her podcasts bring me to tears with joy that i have made this decision. thanks for sharing her with your readers!
    ~wendy
    http://conradvisionquest.wordpress.com/

  2. What a fabulous, articulate and perceptive argument Colleen has put forward in this video. I’m thrilled that I stopped by for your recipe for baked tofu (for the second time actually, it’s delicious!) as I’m having quite a miserable week and feeling a bit lost and without purpose. But hearing someone speak about something in such an informed and passionate way reminds me that I too am passionate about so many things and shouldn’t just sit at home (eating tofu!) and dwell on being grumpy. I should be out & about, sharing positive messages and celebrating life!

    • Eleanor, wow. Thank you for such a personal and intimate reply! I desperately hope you download Colleen’s podcasts – it seems silly to say that a podcast could be so personal, and mean so much, but they have literally made me a better, more thoughtful and aware person. Her message of compassion, tolerance and understanding exceed just talking about animal welfare.

      And thank you so much for coming back to the blog – its wonderful you liked the recipe and can find something new here to inspire you!

Leave a Reply

