Tofu for You!

Is there anything more tantilizing and scrumptious than a fresh block of white, spongey, bland tofu?

Yes… yes there is. I’m not a personal fan of that plain block of soybean. However, I am a HUGE fan of well-flavored tofu. (I’m even a fan on facebook. That’s dedication.)

In this video, you’ll learn to make a very simple, versatile baked tofu that works well on salads, in stir-frys, and it even holds well on it’s own. I often open the fridge and just have a few pieces as a snack! Watch, then cook and eat!

Baked Tofu

  • 1 block firm or extra firm tofu
  • 2 Tbsps tamari soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 Tbsp agave nectar (you may substitute sugar, or honey if you eat that!)
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 minced clove of garlic, or some garlic powder
  • optional, but recommended – sesame seeds to sprinkle on top

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Cut tofu into half-inch thick slabs (you should get about 6-8 slabs from one block). Press tofu in towels to get water out. Cut pressed tofu into bite-size cubes. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray. Put tofu blocks on baking sheet. Β Mix all ingredients in a bowl (except for sesame seeds). Brush on the tofu with a cooking brush, or distribute on pieces using a spoon. Bake for about 15 minutes, until the bottoms of tofu pieces begin to get brown. Take out of the oven and mix, flipping pieces over. *Sprinkle on the sesame seeds at this time, if using. Put back in the oven for 10-15 minutes, until liquid has absorbed from the bottom of the baking sheet. Β Allow to cool.

I think tofu cooked this way always tastes best cold out of the fridge, but you can of course eat it warm! This is really easy and I try to always keep some of this handy.

Please let me know if you try this, and send along some photos of your yummy creations! Thanks for watching!

5 thoughts on “Tofu for You!

  1. This is an awesome recipe…and I’m with you, Jaime, squishy cold tofu begone! This also works great on the stove top with a teeny bit of olive oil to add a little crispy edge.πŸ™‚

  2. I have to admit I’ve generally abandoned tofu for seitan now that I’ve learned to make my own (I know you can make your own tofu too, but its too time consuming for me). But I use a similar marinade (added flavor profile: ginger) for my grilled tofu which is pretty totally awesome and I am looking forward to BBQ season so I can break it out again!

  3. I’ve just had it for supper, in a wrap with arugula and chickpea humus. Very delicious and you’re right, super quick and easy to make! Mine got a bit dry, but I think it was because I cut the slices very thin. Will be experimenting more! Thanks so much for your videos, they help make veganism less scary for me.

    • Iris, thanks so much for the very sweet commentπŸ™‚ I’m so glad you gave it a try! Cooking is definitely a learning process. I love to play around with recipes (unlike baking which is pretty precise, cooking can let you add a dash of this, a pinch of that…) and I think it’s great you’re having fun in the kitchen!πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

