Mediterranean Cruise

Okay, not a cruise (a girl can dream!) but perhaps the next best thing: food from a Mediterranean Deli. Some dear friends were telling me about this deli I had never been to, even though it’s only 10 miles away and I’ve lived in this area for 9 years! My pal Tesh drives by all the time on her way to work, and picked up some goodies for me.

She is a real pal, because this stuff was tasty! She picked up some meatless marshoushe, which is a cold salad of green beans, parsley, bulgar, onions, lemon juice, huge brown beans…. and some other stuff, perhaps. I has trying to find a recipe online, but believe it or not, “marshoushe” doesn’t even turn up in google! ย If anyone recognizes this food and knows it by another name, please let me know! It was AMAZING.

She also got me some garlic hummus – isn’t homemade always the best? Hopefully you all know the wonders of hummus and eat it on a regular basis, so I’ll move along to the mouhammara, a roasted red pepper dip. The best I’ve ever had, though, was one I made from a recipe out of the book “The Vegan Table” by one of my personal food-heros, Colleen Patrick-Goudreau.

Muhammara Recipe from “The Vegan Table” cookbook
2 to 3 whole roasted peppers (from jar or roasted yourself)
2/3 cup bread crumbs (see below to make your own)
1 cup walnuts, toasted
4 large garlic cloves
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
2 teaspoons clover agave nectar
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (or more for added spice)

Directions
In a blender or food processor, combine the peppers and all the remaining ingredients. Taste, and add more spice or salt as necessary.

But wait… here is the best part of my deli gifts. GIANT, HUMONGOUS HOMEMADE PITA BREAD. This stuff puts all other pita to shame. ย It was so soft, and tasted like a cross between regular pita and Indian naan bread. Plus it was ENORMOUS! ย One pack of pita contained four of these monsters all folded up.

I want to use it as a blanket for the duration of winter.

Today’s lesson: search your town for ethnic delis! You likely have something a few miles from home that you don’t even know is there! Get out those phonebooks and look.

And many thanks to my friends for introducing me to Forks Mediterranean Deli at 1508 Sullivan Trail, Forks Township, PA. (Essentially, its in Easton, PA.) Happy eating!

11 thoughts on “Mediterranean Cruise

  1. Oh, that marshoushe. The beans are fava beans and, at least at this time of year, it has some hearty greens (kale?) in it, too. There’s also a lot of olive oil in it, and some spiciness.

    I get one hit with it spelled “mashush,” but still no recipes with any of the spelling variations I tried. I might scout around for ideas on the seasonings and experiment with making my own recipe for it. It’s delicious, and I was only living in Easton temporarily and I miss it!

  2. LOL–I also tried searching for “marshoushe” in Google after picking some up at a Mediterranean deli, and yours was the only Google hit in English (out of a total of four hits)…and it seems I got it at the same deli featured on your site! Small world! Very yummy, maybe it is a family recipe and the owners made up the name?

  3. Forks Mediterranean Deli is still in business but has moved into a larger place at 1530 Sullivan Trail. I too was looking for a recipe after picking up some of the meatless Marshoushe from them.

  4. At Damascus in Allentown, they spell that recipe “Sleaque” and describe it as ” steamed endive and bulgur wheat mixed with sauteed onions and black eye beans fried with a splash of oil.” Really yummy (and easy to re-create at home from that menu description). I’ve had it at Damascus; will have to try the Forks Deli version.

  5. Hello! I just saw this post while navigating your site (my family and I are big fans of your show) and was thrilled to come across it, because I’m the owner of Forks Mediterranean Deli… I just wanted to thank you so much for your kind words about our food!

    To respond to those who are having trouble finding marshoushe recipes online, it’s always tricky with Arabic words because there is not a direct letter-to-letter conversion, which is why you can find even more common foods like hummus or tabbouli spelled a variety of ways… Sleaque, although somewhat similar, and definitely delicious, is not the same as marshoushe. “Marshoushe” also is just the way that we translated it- I just tried a few different options in google and had the best luck spelling it “marshoosheh”- so if you’re still looking for a recipe, you can try it that way for better results- or if you’re ever looking for a guest on the show, we’d be happy to come on and show you the Forks Mediterranean way!๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks again- and keep up the great work!

    • WOW, thanks for commenting, what a small world๐Ÿ™‚ To this day it’s one of my favorite things in the Lehigh Valley. I may be back soon to write about it for my new column with LV Style. Now I’m hungry thinking about it! Thank you, too, for the spelling and explanation. I have a Polish family and so many things are spelled differently depending on where and who the recipes came from.

      Hopefully I will see you sooner than later!

Leave a Reply

