Fill your belly, fill your heart.

You can’t possibly imagine how excited I am to bring you the very first cooking video!

(!!!!!!! This needs more exclamation points!!!!!!!)

I have a Valentine’s Day themed show, and today you’ll learn to make Moroccan (heart)Beet Salad and Sauteed Purple Kale.



(Disclaimer: As the first video, it was also a lesson in lighting, angle, and amount of spoken information. I’m learning and am looking forward to improving for the next video! Please bear with me as I get the hang of this – I’m doing everything by myself!)

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3 (not part 2…. as it says in the beginning… I was too excited to count!)

Moroccan (heart)Beet Salad

DRESSING:

  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp agave nectar (as a substitute for honey)
  • 1 Tbsp dijon (spicy brown) mustard
  • 1 Tbsp cumin
  • 1 tsp corriander
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp allspice

SALAD:

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 bunches beets, with greens intact (if you choose to use them)
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes, cut in half
  • 1 cup red beans (or lentils; chick peas)
  • 1 red pear, diced


Put quinoa in a pot with the water. Bring to a boil, cover with lid, and turn heat to medium-low. Cook until all water is evaporated, about 15-20 minutes. Cut green stems off beets. Put whole beets into a pot so they are covered in water. Bring to a boil, cover with lid, and turn heat to medium-low. Cook until beets are soft and can be easily pierced with a knife, about 30 minutes. Remove the stalk from the beet greens so you have only the leafy green part. Run your knife through the stems to make smaller slices. Steam the greens until done, about 4-5 minutes.

Add tomato, beans and pear to a large mixing bowl. In a small bowl, whisk together the Dressing ingredients. When beets are done cooking, cut off stems and tails and peel the skins. Slice into 1/2-inch thick discs. Use a heart-shaped cookie cutter on the beets to make the heart shape. Add quinoa to the mixing bowl with half the dressing and stir. Add greens and beets to the bowl with the remaining dressing, and stir.

***OOPS! I shot the entire video only to realize afterwards I had been saying the incorrect ingredient the entire time – woopsies! So anytime you hear me say “cous cous”, please substitute that for QUINOAΒ (pronounced “keen-wa”). Quinoa is the grainy ingredient used in this recipe!***

Sauteed Purple Kale

  • 1 bunch purple kale
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small red onion, cut in half and sliced lengthwise
  • 3 cloves garlic (or less to taste) minced
  • pinch hot red pepper flakes
  • 1 Tbsp red wine vinegar

Cut stems off kale, roughly chop the leaves. Steam until done, about 3-5 minutes. Heat oil in a skillet. Add onion and sautee for about 8 minutes, until onions are soft and translucent. Add garlic, vinegar, and red pepper flakes and stir about 1-2 minutes. Add steamed kale and toss with ingredients for 2-3 minutes.

Thanks for watching! Your support has meant the world to me!



9 thoughts on “Fill your belly, fill your heart.

  1. How fun is that! Congratulations on your first video, you did a great job. I absolutely love the heart beets! Not that I heart beets that much but maybe if they are cut into heart shapes and mixed with other good stuff, I’ll like them better. Wish I had known last week, I have a heart cookie cutter you could have used. Have to agree on the garlic and onion bit – but I guess it can’t be a leather shoe…..
    Good luck with the blog. I’ll be checking in often to get some good food ideas.

  2. Jaime, I really appreciate you bringing this revolution about. I always felt a personal responsibility to advocate for the dark, leafy green veggie… but had NO idea how to use it or how to make it interesting. So thanks!

  3. Jaime K is much better than Rachael Ray.
    Saw your video and absolutely loved it. I can so become a vegetarian. I have some delicious recipies I can share with you sometime.

  4. JaimeK – congrats on the first video, everything looked delicious! And I think I saw a cute little gray Pierogi cat tail under the table during the first part!πŸ™‚

  5. I have become obsessed lately with Agave Nectar… while I’m not ready to give up my creamed honey, I’ve started using it in my daily coffee… it blends well with almond milk too.

    I was so excited a few weeks ago because the new Whole Foods in Plymouth Meeting sells it (and a bunch of other goodies like honey and maple syrup) in bulk!

Leave a Reply

