“I’ve known what it is to be hungry, but I always went right to a restaurant.” -Ring Lardner

With always increasing numbers of obesity rates in the United States, it’s easy to forget that so many people are struggling to find food. (We all know a lot of obese people, and may not be able to think of anyone considered hungry or starving.) Sadly, both those with too much and too little to eat may suffer from malnutrition.

Eating a plant-based diet can directly help your own health as well as the health of others on a more global plain. You don’t even have to be vegan or vegetarian for your actions to affect others in a positive way! ANYONE can do this by incorporating more whole, plant-based foods in their diet. Isn’t that easy!?

“To supply one person with a meat habit for a year requires three-and-a-quarter acres of land. To supply one vegetarian with food for a year requires one half-acre. To supply a vegan requires only one-sixth of an acre. In other words, a given acreage can feed twenty times as many people eating a vegan diet as it could people eating a standard American diet.

Lester Brown of the Overseas Development Council has estimated that if Americans were to reduce their meat consumption by only 10 percent, it would free over 12 million tons of grain annually for human consumption. That, all by itself, would be enough to adequately feed every one of the 60 million human beings who will starve to death on the planet this year.” John Robbins, “Diet for a New America”. pg 352

I love food. I love cows. Cows love food. But if we give them all the hearty grains to eat just so we can later eat the cows, we lose a lot of food for people! It’s like saying “Hello Cow! I bought too many groceries this week. I guess I could take it to a food shelter. But what the heck, I’ll just give it to you because I want you to taste more delicious when I eat you up!”

Vegetarians hear a lot of silly things by people who feel a need to belittle their diet choices. A common jab is “Why don’t you take all the energy you put into trying to save animals and worry about people instead?” But au contraire. As you can see, if we all made a little more effort to cut out the middle-man (middle-cow?), we could all be healthier, happier and full.

Bonus tip: Cows are natural vegetarians! Funny no one asks them how they get their protein…

6 thoughts on ““I’ve known what it is to be hungry, but I always went right to a restaurant.” -Ring Lardner

  1. โ€œHello Cow! I bought too many groceries this week. I guess I could take it to a food shelter. But what the heck, Iโ€™ll just give it to you because I want you to taste more delicious when I eat you up!โ€ Is by far my favorite quote in this post! I was LOL @ work๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Very much agree. We could feed so many more people if meat consumption were lowered. It’s too bad vegetarians are usually as pushy and arrogant as meat-eaters, chastising people eating hamburgers, pinching their noses near the smell of meat, and preaching culinary morality to a person with canines and incisors.They’d catch more flies with honey, or, molasses I suppose.

    • I wouldn’t go as far as to say “usually”, but much like the most extreme religious zealots, the over the top jerky ones are who people tend to think of. I can’t tell you how mad I get when I hear people being pushy or arrogant, to use your words.

      I always try to speak my truth and present ideas in accessible, non-threatening ways. I would hope if I ever seem pushy someone would call me out on it. Thanks for writing, Joe!

    • “Itโ€™s too bad vegetarians are usually as pushy and arrogant as meat-eaters”

      So, um, everyone is pushy and arrogant? That statement makes no sense.

      “preaching culinary morality to a person with canines and incisors.”

      Incisors? LOL. And the average omnivore human’s canines aren’t exactly the same size as animals that actually, I don’t know, use them.

      • Bobler, our pal Joe also forgot that many of our human teeth are wide and flat made for breaking down plants. But thats an awfully convenient part of our dentistry lesson to leave out. I think perhaps it was Ben Franklin that said we are so privileged to be rational creatures, since we can rationalize anything we want to believe.

        My goals for this blog is not to start debates – thats cheap, and can be had at any dinner table. I’m happy enough to share what I know and let anyone who takes the time to read it (thank you very much) make up their own minds!

Leave a Reply

