VEGAN BEER AND CHEESE SOUP: Creamy, Hearty… and Full of Vegetables!?

beer soup Not to toot my own horn, but this is one of my favorite recipes I’ve ever made. Ever. 

Believe it or not, this soup is actually quite healthful. It does contain alcohol (so I can’t claim that it’s outright “healthy”), but the entire recipe only calls for one cup of beer, among four full servings, and the rest of the ingredients are actually whole foods or spices.

Imagine the thick, creamy, bisque-like qualities of a beer and cheese soup, with the benefits of vegetables and no added oil. Oh, and no cheese or milk. (*Easily made soy-free by using chickpea miso rather than soybean miso.)

If it sounds impossible, I need you to 1) trust me, and 2) make this and see for yourself.

Behold…

VEGAN BEER + CHEESE SOUP by Save the Kales

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 2 potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 2 onions, peeled and chopped
  • 1 cup water (or veg broth)
  • 1 Tbsp veg broth paste (if using water)
  • 1 cup dark vegan beer (Go to Barnivore.com for vegan beers)
  • 1 can white beans (Northern White or Cannellini), drained
  • 2 cups unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 Tbsp white miso paste
  • 2/3 cup nutritional yeast

Put carrots, potatoes, onions, broth/water and beer in a large soup pot. Simmer for 10-15 minutes until all vegetables are tender and some liquid evaporates.

Pour contents of soup pot into a blender. (You may need to do this in two batches so you have enough room. If you have a Vitamix, everything can go in.)

Add the beans, almond milk, miso paste and nutritional yeast. Blend well until very smooth. This will be thick, so you may need to stop and scrape the sides of the blender.

That’s it!

Vegan Beer and Cheese Soup

Vegan Beer and Cheese Soup

You can serve in a bread bowl, in a regular bowl, or as a dip for veggies or pretzels. Or why not try a fondue?

.   .   .

This was part of our “Football Foods” themed episode of our half-hour vegan cooking show, Save the Kales!, airing in Pennsylvania and online everywhere. New episodes each month.

Check back for our Vegan Hot Wings recipe!

 

12 thoughts on “VEGAN BEER AND CHEESE SOUP: Creamy, Hearty… and Full of Vegetables!?

    • Thanks Sara :) It’s so surprising how the texture and flavor comes out — I mean, really, really creamy and cheesy. I hope you try and it and love it! (Today was the first day in a long time I woke up super-cold, too. Uh-oh, it’s that time..)

  1. Made this tonight and 8 year old son said it was one of his favorite soups ever. I hope servong beer soup to my kids doesn’t make me a bad mom. I cooked most of the alcohol off.

  2. Saved this a few days ago…making(yum!)..coudn’t get a Vegan beer in my little -one- horse- town…but did get a gluten-free…can’t wait to enjoy,,,thx

  3. I just found your blog the other week and really enjoy it! This was the first recipe I made, as I found you mid-craving for beer cheese soup…

    I have to admit I tweaked it a tiny bit to suit my personal tastes (adding a little more nutritional yeast, smoked paprika, lemon juice, a tiny squirt of mustard, and a bit of hot sauce) – and LOVE this!! (so does my omnivore husband) I’m completely addicted and am about to make it for the second time in two weeks.

    Thanks for bringing back one of my former fav.s :)

    • Oh, this makes me so HAPPY! Thank you for the great comments — I have to admit, this is one of the recipes I’m most proud of :) So happy you love it, your variations of it sound wonderful. Thanks for coming by!

  4. Pingback: Vegan Football Food: SOUPer Bowl | Save the Kales!

  5. Pingback: “WE DON’T NEED TO ASK PERMISSION”: Jaime K on the Tranquility du Jour Podcast | Save the Kales!

Leave a Reply

