Quiet Day

The husband and father of one of the most beautiful families I’ve ever had the pleasure to know passed away last night. My heart is torn open in shock and sadness.

Sandi and Dennis

Sandi has been a dear friend, my “Bethlehem Mom”, the woman who helped me through one of the toughest times of my life by saying, “Love isn’t supposed to hurt and make you feel sad all the time”, we have laughed together so much, when I needed encouragement she always popped up at just the right time, and continues to even now, every day I see her. She always greets me with a smile and a hug, and I wonder if I can ever give back to her the love and support she has given to me.

Her family is so creative and loving, she and her husband Dennis raised two beautiful boys who make the world better with their art and their kindness. Dennis and Sandi exemplified that marriages can last and work, and their sons have grown up in a home of love, respect, and adoration that will be passed along to their own families. I have often thought, if I ever have a family of my own it would be a great source of pride if we could be as kind, selfless and inspiring as the Meyers family. Love radiates from them.

Family love, personified.

It’s too hard to find words right now. I’ll borrow from e. e. cummings:

life’s not a paragraph

And death i think is no parenthesis

Dennis, what an honor to have known you. The world is immeasurably better because you were in it. Your family will go on to continue to make it great with all the lessons and love you gave them. In them, you leave the best legacy.


5 thoughts on “Quiet Day

  1. Pingback: We get so caught up in the whirlwind « One Lifetime

Leave a Reply

