DINNER IMPROV: Green Pizza (Herb Dough with Roasted Cabbage, Asparagus, Kale)

Last week I ventured out to the Trader Joe’s by my Gram’s home, about an hour away. After I picked up approx. one million packs of tempeh (see: eight), I spent nearly an hour and a half roaming the isles. When I was a kid, the thing I hated most in life was food shopping. Oh, the irony!

I also snagged a few of their refrigerated pizza doughs – these are great to keep in the freezer until you find yourself with a bunch of veggies that are about to expire and you turn them into a pizza dinner. It’s like eating the plate!

The herb dough inspired this recipe. I thought it would be pretty to make an all-green pizza. You can go crazy with this and add whatever you like to eat on top – this would be great with pesto, leeks, shallots, etc…

GREEN PIZZA

  • 1 pack Trader Joe’s herb pizza dough (or use any vegan pizza dough)
  • about 8 stalks of asparagus, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/2 small green cabbage, shredded
  • 1/2 bunch of kale, torn into bite-size pieces
  • 3-4 green onions (scallions) chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • olive oil
  • salt + pepper

Green pizza

Let your oven warm to 400 degrees. Chop the veggies. Toss all veggies EXCEPT green onion in a bowl with a small amount of olive oil to coat. Lay them on a baking sheet and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast at 400 for about 15 mins, so they begin to wilt but not yet brown.

Green pizza

Green pizza

In the meantime, roll out the dough on a floured surface. Transfer to a flat baking sheet. Drizzle some olive oil on top. Throw the fresh minced garlic on the pizza, then brush the garlic and olive oil into the raw dough.

Green Pizza

When the veggies come out of the oven, put them on top of the pizza dough. Add chopped green onion. Bake for about 8-10 minutes when dough and veggies just start to brown.

Green Pizza

 

Garlicky and green!

 

The fresh garlic in the  dough makes it taste like garlic bread, and the sweetness of the roasted cabbage comes through behind the asparagus and kale. DELICIOUS.

Enjoy!

 

4 thoughts on “DINNER IMPROV: Green Pizza (Herb Dough with Roasted Cabbage, Asparagus, Kale)

  1. I found this post a few months ago by searching “cabbage kale asparagus” and made it once or twice. My wife and I really liked it, and I should have commented a while ago! Tonight, I bumped it up a notch by adding pesto and using a homemade herbed pan pizza dough (which is basically focaccia) and I will be making it over and over again! Thanks so much for the recipe, I never would have thought to do this amazing flavor combination.

    My Green Pan Pizza recipe

Leave a Reply

