TOAD IN THE HOLE (vegan): Breakfast Food with Funniest Name gets a Plant-Based Makeover

Growing up in a Polish household meant I ate my fair share of “Pigs in the Blanket”, but it was only a few years ago while visiting Brooklyn that I discovered Toad in the Hole. 

Are you done giggling? No? That’s ok, read on… the folks I was with (two of which lived in Brooklyn) took us to Flatbush Farm for Sunday brunch, and while I was happy and satisfied with tofu scramble and greens, I couldn’t stop staring at my friend’s plate - her Toad in the Hole dish looked like a little handmade craft project more than a breakfast, a circle carved in the toast and an egg fried right into the middle.

Parker Posey came in and ordered it, too. I can verify at least the first half of that statement. Anyway.

I never knew you could make this vegan (fried eggs are, um, half of it after all) but that’s only because I had a lapse in memory and momentarily forgot that you can make a vegan version of nearly anything. This proves it.

Vegan Toad in the Hole, photo by VKRees

Last week I found this photo of a Toad in the Hole dish from a food blog… and as I continued to read I was shocked (along with many other people, as per the comments) that THIS DISH IS NOT MADE WITH EGGS. Go on, look at that photo. Amazing, right?

I had to do it for myself! So here’s my successful attempt to make the recipe from the VKReesPhotography Blog. (I highly encourage you to read the whole post  – not only for the breathtaking food photography, but to see a nearly concise list of all the other funny names people have for this dish, including: Birdie in a Basket; One-Eyed Jack; and the curious Elephant Tracks.)

VEGAN TOAD IN THE HOLE

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup extra firm (or firm) tofu
  • 10 – 15 Tbs unsweetened nondairy milk
  • 1 cup Kabocha squash, steamed (*I roasted butternut squash)
  • 1 Tbsp turmeric, optional
  • 5-6 pieces of bread
  • Salt + Pepper
  • Vegetable Oil

*Do this ahead of time! I used a butternut squash as that’s what I had on hand. Cut in half, brush the inside with olive oil, and roast in the oven for an hour at 350 degrees. Allow to cool at least 15 mins to make it easier to handle.

.

One cup of tofu is about half a block. Cut into a few thick slices and lay on a towel to press out the water. Add to a food processor along with 5 TBSP of nondairy milk, and process until silky smooth but not too thin.

.

Put in a bowl and set aside. Do the same with the squash – one cup of squash plus 5 TBSP nondairy milk. I added some turmeric and a little salt to the mix. Set aside in a bowl.

.

Place your slices of bread on a flat surface. Using a drink glass, press the rim of the glass into the bread to cut a hole in the middle.

.

Heat 1 TBSP olive oil in a pan on medium heat. Place the bread in the pan, and fill the bread with the tofu mixture. Let it cook 5-6 minutes until the bottom of the tofu is cooked and firm. Flip and let the other side cook.

.

Use a spatula to plate the bread. Put a dollop of the squash mixture on top to make a “yolk”. Season with salt and cracked pepper. (And hot sauce.)

Vegan Toad in the Hole breakfast

Looks convincing, right? I was surprised at house easy this was. This would be SUCH an impressive dish for a large brunch party.

Once again, I can’t take credit for the recipe as I found it HERE and this person deserves allllll the credit, but I hope you will try this and let us know what you think! 

9 thoughts on “TOAD IN THE HOLE (vegan): Breakfast Food with Funniest Name gets a Plant-Based Makeover

    • You know what, it tastes so similar it’s kind of amazing. I guess fried egg whites are generally sort of bland and I’d honestly bet if you made this (without the squash which could give it away by taste) and didn’t tell someone, they wouldn’t know it wasn’t egg whites. You must try!

  1. This is too funny. I used to call them “Egg in the hole” when I was growing up. It was my favorite breakfast. I only thought of them recently when I learned about Vegg, the new vegan egg replacer. Anyway, I look forward to trying your recipe.

    • Thanks for commenting on this, I kinda forgot about this recipe so you’re reminding me I have to make it again :) I haven’t tried Vegg yet but have been following it online… is it available now? Have you tried it? This should probably be the first thing you make with it — report back!

  2. Hi, I am from London and toad in the hole is normally sausages in a batter (Yorkshire pudding). This was a recipe that was popular during the war as food was scarce. Of course Iwould make a vegan version. Interesting how the meaning is different in other countries.

    • How interesting! Yeah, the egg-in-toast recipe seems to have so many names, I have no idea where they all originated but it sure is neat to learn what the meanings are based on geography! Thanks for sharing :)

Leave a Reply

